Skip to content

Carrot & Tuna Salad

January 24, 2010

This is probably one of Harumi’s more famous recipes, and apparently one of the most popular. You wouldn’t think carrot & tuna salad would be anything to shout about but let me tell ya, this is REALLY GOOD. Yum. I will be making it again. Soon.

So here we go, the recipe, with some minor additions/modifications.

Carrot & Tuna Salad

(adapted from Harumi’s Japanese Cooking)

Ingredients (serves 4):
200g carrots, peeled
90g tinned tuna (a little more tuna won’t hurt)
50g finely chopped onion
1 tsp chopped garlic
1 tbsp sunflower or vegetable oil

Dressing:
2 tbsp white wine vinegar / white vinegar
1 tbsp mustard (preferably French grain mustard)
Salt and pepper to taste
Soy sauce to taste

NB: I didn’t have any regular onions at home so I used shallots instead. And I thought I had some white wine vinegar in the house but turns out I didn’t, so I just used white vinegar. Both worked just fine. =)

Directions:
1. Cut the carrots into lengths of 5-6cm think juliennes.

2. Put them into a microwavable bowl and mix in the onions, garlic and sunflower oil. Cover and microwave for 1-1.5 minutes (600W).

*Believe it or not, we don’t have a microwave. We have a water oven, which takes ten times as long to do everything a microwave does. So I put the carrots, onions, garlic and sunflower oil into a small saucepan, and stirred it for 2-3 minutes over medium heat. (When you’re done the carrots should still have a little bit of crunch in them.)

3. Once the carrots are lightly cooked, add the drained tuna and then the dressing and mix well.

4. Serve hot or cold. We had it at around room temperature and it was delicious.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. trissalicious permalink
    January 24, 2010 6:56 pm

    Don’t you just love Harumi’s cookbooks? She is fantastic. Every recipe I’ve tried is delicious! Thanks for sharing this carrot salad – I think I missed it.

  2. January 24, 2010 7:05 pm

    that salad looks so bright and yummy. I like carrots and of course tuna. so it has to be good no?!!:))

  3. January 24, 2010 8:35 pm

    Really so good? You’re tempting me! I have almost all the ingredients. Maybe I’ll make them tomorrow. Will let you know. Thanks, Clare! :)

  4. January 25, 2010 2:14 am

    Sounds simple and healthy but looks so yummy! Must try out this salad soon as I need to watch my diet before this CNY. Btw, I don’t have microwave too as I don’t like the radiation.

  5. January 25, 2010 9:11 am

    I should have kept my last can of tuna for this recipe. Looks good.

  6. January 25, 2010 10:10 pm

    That’s quite simple ya? Hmm… I gonna try it out one day, thanks for sharing. :)

  7. Cons permalink
    January 26, 2010 10:07 pm

    the Tuna and Carror salad look great!…hum….i just bought 2 can of tuna!

  8. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    January 29, 2010 11:39 am

    Thanks ladies for all your comments =)
    Ju, food-4tots, ladyhomechef and Cons, let me know if you decide to try it out?

  9. B's Mommy permalink
    April 2, 2010 6:48 am

    I finally tried this recipe and give it two thumbs up =) I grated the carrots instead of slicing them, but I think it still turned out well!

  10. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    April 18, 2010 11:16 pm

    B’s Mommy: Proud of you dear! Looking forward to seeing you soon and cooking for you =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

