Skip to content

Dairy-Free Pumpkin & Chickpea Soup

October 29, 2010

Yes I know – the pictures for this post are so utterly unattractive! But the soup tasted much much better than it looks in my icky pictures. And I just had to post the only pumpkin dish I’ve made this fall =) Especially while it’s still October.

It is remarkable how many thousands of pumpkin recipes are floating in cyberspace right now. Just go to Tastespotting and key in “pumpkin” and you’ll get over 1800 search results. There’s everything from soups to muffins to cookies to puddings to breads to quiches to pies. Being in the infancy of my culinary life (two years isn’t that long, right?), I only discovered the joys of cooking with pumpkin fairly recently, so I’m still not too adventurous when it comes to pumpkin. But my previous experiences with pumpkin (aka caramel pumpkin tart, pumpkin curry soup and pumpkin risoni) were so positive I really wanted to make something with pumpkin while the markets were still chock full of them.


Fortunately I came across a recipe for pumpkin & chick pea soup from Donna Hay in the pretty book that two of my good friends got me for Christmas last year. I was intrigued because of the combination of sauces and spices used, the incorporation of chick peas, and the absence of dairy (yup that’s right, no milk, no cream, no butter). I put it all together with a few tweaks, and got a deliciously spicy, aromatic soup that was rich without being heavy. Because I made this huge batch of soup for just my hubs and me, I had three rounds of it in one week, and still couldn’t get enough!

If you’re lactose intolerant, this wonderful soup recipe is for you!

Dairy-Free Pumpkin & Chickpea Soup

(adapted from Donnay Hay’s Off The Shelf )

Click here for printable recipe.

Ingredients (6-8 servings):

  • 1.4 kg pumpkin (cut into 2-3 pieces)
  • 5 cups of chicken stock
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 medium yellow onion
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 400g canned chick peas (garbanzo beans)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 220 degC. Put the pumpkin pieces flesh-side down in a baking pan and add about 1cm of water to the pan. Put the pan into the oven and cook pumpkin for 30-40 mins till the flesh is soft.

2. Remove pumpkin from the oven and scoop out pumpkin flesh into a large bowl. Add 1 cup of chicken stock. Use an immersion blender to blend the mixture till smooth. (Alternatively you can put the flesh and chicken stock into a food processor and pulse till smooth.)

3. Heat olive oil in a big pot. Add the onion and cook for about 2 minutes till onion is soft and translucent. Add the pumpkin mixture, the remaining 4 cups of chicken stock, the cumin, honey and mustard, and bring to a boil. Simmer for 5 minutes. Add the chick peas and simmer for another 5 minutes.

4. Serve hot.

Pumpkin puree makes me happy ♥

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2010 12:20 am

    Looks yummy!!I love both pumpkin and chick pea soup too!

  2. October 29, 2010 11:14 am

    Clare, your version of pumpkin soup is awesome! The chickpea was such a perfect compliment to the soup. So comforting and satisfying!

  3. October 29, 2010 3:13 pm

    Thanks Mia, food-4tots!

  4. October 29, 2010 10:50 pm

    I’m so glad you left a comment on my blog so I could find yours. I just love this pumpkins chickpea soup, both are my very favorites…and to think to combine them…sheer delight!
    I would like to follow your blog, but I don’t see and option, so I wil copy the url and put you in my foodie friends blog list!

  5. October 29, 2010 11:51 pm

    I tried to copy the url of your blog into my blog list, but it would not let me for some reason. I will just have to put your blog on my favorites list. I printed out the yummy pumpkin and chickpea soup recipe, and also the fish and chips recipe. Not that I need any more fat, but that was so nice of you to share this. I love fish and chips, and the English folks surely know how to make it right.
    Yours turned out fabulous.
    Also, your print option is so nice.

  6. October 30, 2010 12:57 am

    I love pumpkin/sqash in soups! Gotta try this one :)
    love,
    cathy B. @ brightbakes

  7. October 30, 2010 4:05 am

    I love that bright yellow color. Yum. Cumin, honey and mustard great flavor .

  8. November 1, 2010 8:15 am

    On the contrary, I think this soup photo of yours looks pretty good! Makes me want to run to the market and buy a whole pumpkin and chick peas to try this! Yum!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

