Skip to content

Kamsahamnida!

February 22, 2009

I wanted this post to have a Korean title, and unfortunately that’s the only Korean I know… I suppose you could take it as my way of saying “Thank You” for reading my blog =)

Anyways, a couple of days ago, I decided that we would do Korean Night at home. I’ve found it to be a lot of fun building our dinner menus around a theme – it helps me decide what dishes to prepare and what I need to buy at the supermarket.  So for our Korean Night menu, we had Bulgogi Beef, Spicy Tofu and Kimchi.

For the beef and tofu dishes, I used pre-made sauces from the Asian Home Gourmet Korean line, and just added some cut chilli, scallions and sesame seeds as garnish. I would have used spring onion also, but forgot to buy some. FInally, the kimchi was bought from Cold Storage at King Albert Park. (I am determined to make my own kimchi one of these days! I will be sure to blog about it when the time comes.)

Here are pictures of the sliced beef marinading, the garnishing I used, and the packet of kimchi.

img_1302 img_1303 img_13041

Cooking from scratch can be lots of fun, but on a regular evening after work I can’t always afford to expand the amount of time required to do so. I think it’s okay, therefore, to take a few short cuts every now and then.

So all I had to do was fry up the beef after it had marinaded for about 45 minutes, and pour sauce over the tofu after steaming it for five minutes, et voila – a complete meal!

img_1311

img_1310

The spicy sesame sauce for the tofu wasn’t the best, but the kimchi was surprisingly good, and the beef was absolutely delicious. All in all, a satisfying and simple meal =)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

