Skip to content

Breaking In Is Not So Hard To Do

March 11, 2009

I bought a very cool pair of pumps from Gripz a little while ago (see my Bounce posting). Problem is, they didn’t quite fit my feet  – they were much too tight in the front (yes I have fat feet). But I bought them anyway because they were so cute =)

So I was anticipating a very painful breaking in process… Thankfully a friend was with me when I bought the shoe, and she recommended that I try using Foot Glide when I wore the shoe. Now, that name – Foot Glide – just sounded terribly familiar, and after cracking my head a bit I remembered that my mom had actually passed me a stick of it just a few weeks before. I hunted it down at home, and here’s a picture of it:

img_1328

It’s  basically a deodorant-like stick with a waxy substance inside, which you rub around all the likely-to-blister parts of your feet before putting on your gorgeous but painful shoes. Doesn’t sound like it would make much of a difference, does it? But it really does! My whole breaking in process became completely painless, and now I wear the shoe all the time, sans Foot Glide, sans blister.

Two thumbs up! (I think you can get this at Guardian and Watsons)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Clothesmad Gal permalink
    March 18, 2009 11:10 am

    You… should…. not… have… to…. break … in… shoes!!!!!!!

    They should fit you well. Breaking in shoes only leads to blisters, bumps and all that bad stuff….

    Just ask the front bone of my big toe on my right foot. Never again!!!!

  2. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    March 18, 2009 6:07 pm

    Haha Clothesmad Gal you always make me laugh….

    It’s difficult though to find perfectly fitting shoes in Asia when you have wide, flat and uneven feet =) I very occassionally buy a good pair of European shoes (not the super high end stuff but just good shoes), but when I’m just getting a pair just for kicks (I don’t do it that often really!! My hubby can testify!) and don’t want to spend much that means I buy local brands, and local brands are naaaaarrrrowwww…….

Leave a Reply

