Skip to content

Don’t let them bug you anymore

March 12, 2009

From just a simple conversation with my lovely colleagues at dinner this evening, I’ve discovered some simple home-tested formulas for getting rid of some of the household critters that bug us the most: ants and lizards!

So adding to the more commonly known Asian solution for cockroaches, we have:

Ants: Orange peel
Lizards: Empty egg shells
Cockroaches: Pandan leaves
orangeeggshellpandanleaves

Apparently you Just leave these things in the places where your home intruders usually appear, and you’ll soon find they’ve disappeared =)

If I remember I’ll write back and report after trying these out. Please feel free to add more critter-ridding solutions in the comments section!

(For an updated post on lizards and eggshells, click here.)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Corinne permalink
    March 14, 2009 7:17 pm

    Hi Clare!

    I must say the empty egg shells really work! I used to have lizards in my car but after putting some empty egg shells there, they’re gone!

    Corinne

  2. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    March 16, 2009 12:31 pm

    Oh that’s great! So now I have two confirmations that this works.. (yours and my friend who gave me the idea). I have to try it myself =)

  3. March 26, 2009 2:39 pm

    Also, crab shells for rice weevils.

    Didn’t know you kept this blog. I love life-hacks! Suspect I’ll be checking back often. : )

  4. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    March 26, 2009 6:05 pm

    Allo Ami =) First I need some rice weevils, then I need to go buy some crabs…

  5. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    March 26, 2009 6:09 pm

    Oh yeah.. what’s a life-hack??!

  6. March 29, 2009 3:57 am

    Life-hacks are things that generally make life easier, or productivity tricks. : )

    Also see “urawaza”, which wikiepedia defines as “a quirky, ingenious technique that optimizes an everyday activity like cleaning up spills, preventing odors, or folding laundry”.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Life_hack

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Urawaza

  7. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    March 29, 2009 4:29 pm

    Cool I’ve learnt something new =)

Leave a Reply

