Skip to content

Ingredient Synonyms I

March 16, 2009

I thought I would start compiling lists of ingredients that have varying names… For some of you I know this is kindergarten stuff but for other kitchen newbies like me I thought it might be helpful. (Hey it took me effort to figure some of this out in the beginning!)

  • Scallion = Spring Onion = Green Onion
  • (Not quite the same as chives, which are smaller and milder. But scallions can be used as substitutes for chives.)
  • Eggplant = Aubergine = Brinjal
  • Shallot = Eschallot = “Bawang Merah Kecil” (Small Red Onions)
  • Ladyfinger = Okra = Gumbo
  • Coriander = Cilantro = Chinese Parsley (“Wan Sui Chang”)
  • (Very different from Parsley in Western recipes, which usually refers to English Parsley. Looks pretty, but has hardly any smell/taste.)
  • Know anymore good ones?

    3 Comments leave one →
    1. May 15, 2009 3:37 pm

      Your blog is a very nice read!

      Gumbo is actually a stew or very thick soup in Cajun cuisine but okras are almost always a part of it. Just wanted to clarify this in case you add in okras instead of gumbo which would really alter the taste of your dish!

    2. mrsmultitasker permalink*
      May 15, 2009 11:15 pm

      Thanks Dawn that’s encouraging =) And yup I’ve had gumbo (the cajun soup) I think. But I learnt from wiki that another name for Okra is Gumbo. I thought that was strange too when I first read it!

    3. May 15, 2009 11:27 pm

      That’s interesting! I wiki-ed it too to check before I posted but only found the soup! Learnt something new from your blog 🙂

    Leave a Reply

