Skip to content

Multitaskers In Need

May 12, 2009

kiva

A MICROFINANCE OPPORTUNITY

I don’t usually post more than one item a day but I am just much too excited about this to keep it to myself!

My friend posted a link to this organisation called Kiva on her Facebook page. I checked it out and discovered that they issue micro loans to entrepreneurs in developing countries, to help them attain economic independence.

Microfinancing is not new, but what is super cool about this particular group is that they allow you to choose a specific entrepreneur that you would like to provide a small loan to, and to make that contribution online. You then get periodic updates on the entrepreneur’s progress, and during the loan term you get repayments from them that you can withdraw, re-invest or donate.

For a long time I’ve wanted to get involved with some microfinance organisation, and this one allows me to do so from the comforts of my own home! I just issued a small loan to a 40-yr old Peruvian lady in need of money for her bread-making business.

315450

And now I’m spreading the word =)

Check it out: http://www.kiva.org

I even have my own lender page! http://www.kiva.org/lender/mrsmultitasker

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2009 2:32 pm

    Very nice!

  2. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    May 19, 2009 10:39 pm

    Thanks to your excellent suggestion!

Leave a Reply

