Skip to content

Ribbonization

May 16, 2009

DSC_0994

I had a teacher in junior college who used the word “ribbonize”. I must have been suitably amused by it because I’ve been using it ever since =)

But I digress. This post is about how to tie ribbon around a box.

At one point last year I had a nicely wrapped Coach box with me, and I wondered how they got the ribbon to look so neat and pretty. So I slowly undid the ribbon and finally figured out how they did it.

Now that I’m married it’s become quite a useful piece of information to have, since I now have to wrap double the number of presents that I used to!

First, you get your gift box, and your ribbon:
DSC_0988 DSC_0989

Lay the ribbon flat under the length of the box, then pull the two ends up and cross the left end over the right (the right should be the shorter end), pulling the left end upward and the right end downward:

DSC_0990 DSC_0991

Now pull the upper end under the box and out the other side. And – this is the more confusing part – pull this end of the ribbon over and under the upper left section of the box.

DSC_0992 DSC_0993

Finally, you tie the two ends into a nice bow, cut off whatever length of the ends you don’t want (I didn’t do that here), and you’re all set!

DSC_0994

What I like most about this way of tying ribbon is that the back is nice and flat and tidy =) I used to tie my ribbon in a way that would leave some yucky criss-cross action going on in the back.

DSC_0996

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

