Skip to content

Ultimate Fudge Cake

May 30, 2009

I went for a fudge cake hands-on workshop at Shermay’s today, with my all-time favorite pastry chef instructor Joycelyn.

The class was kinda pricey, but we did each get to make a whole cake on our own, with lots of fabulous Valrhona chocolate provided. So it was good fun. And I always learn a lot when Joycelyn teaches because she’s incredibly knowledgeable about her craft.

As you can see, my cake wasn’t super even, but the sensei did say that the kind of icing we made today (more viscous and with a dull sheen) would give the cake a more homemade feel. And when I looked around I saw that most of our cakes looked fairly similar, so I’m not feeling too bad about it =)

More importantly, the cake is DELICIOUS. Very rich and fudgey and still expensive-tasting because of the fantastic chocolate. (Investing in high-grade chocolate goes a long way! If you’re new to my blog, see my post on Pierre Hermé World Peace Chocolate Chip Cookies.)

Now I have a whole lovely fudge cake in my refrigerator… Who to feed….

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Bryce's Mommy permalink
    May 31, 2009 3:14 am

    Feed me!

  2. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    May 31, 2009 8:22 am

    Can can! I make for you when you come home…

  3. apprenticehousewife permalink
    June 3, 2009 2:40 pm

    It looks ultra moist and inviting! I could really sink my teeth into your cake right now!

  4. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    June 4, 2009 9:25 pm

    haha… I shall have to make another one for you guys to try… maybe the orange or raspberry variation =)

    but your cake is so so gorgeous! mine nice to eat but not so nice to look at.. if you don’t mind my readers seeing you can feel free to post your blog url up here

  5. bincy permalink
    June 23, 2009 10:16 am

    Hi ‘
    Your ultimate chocolate cake fudge looks delicious. Is there any chance that you are going to share the recipe.

    Thanks
    Bin

  6. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    July 2, 2009 12:52 am

    Hi Bin, I wish I could! But all her recipes are copyrighted.

    I did find a reasonably close substitute recipe on allrecipes.com though. Click on this link. Key differences would be that this recipe uses oil instead of butter, and doesn’t include an extra burst of chocolate through the use of chocolate chips.

    Still, it should probably turn out quite nice. Important to use good high grade chocolate (i.e. Valrhona) – that makes every bit of difference, really. And buttermilk instead of regular milk.

Leave a Reply

