Skip to content

Magnetic Measuring Cups

June 2, 2009

dsc_0970

I love these! My trusty measuring cups from Progressive International. My mum bought them for me when she went to Australia. I didn’t think much of them at first, but I fell in love with them once I started using them for baking/cooking.

They come in a set of four in the following sizes: 1 cup, 1/2 cup, 1/3 cup and 1/4 cup.

dsc_0971

I like this set because:

– The colors are pretty

– They have flat bases so they can rest on the counter with your condiments in them without toppling

– The ends of all the handles are magnetic so the cups stay nested together, which allows for easy storage.

– The four sizes give more flexibility and reduce the room for the parallax errors you get when using a normal measuring cup. If you need one cup of flour, you just take the 1-cup measure, pour your flour into it, sweep across the top with a knife and voila, 1 cup of flour.

– There are graduations inside of each cup so you’re not limited to just the four measuring sizes listed above. (E.g. In the 1-cup measure, there are markings for 1/4 cup, 1/3 cup, 1/2 cup, 2/3 cup etc). Although, it is still best to have the exact size for whatever measure you need, so you need to have another set for measuring <= 1tsp worth of stuff.

–  The slim design means you can stick the cups into containers, bowls and such fairly easily. I made pancakes the other morning and was pleased that I could dunk the 1/4-cup measure comfortably into my batter and scoop out just the right amount for one pancake.

dsc_0974

Would you girls buy something like this? Click on your answer in the poll below and let me know!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

