Skip to content

Infused Oil

July 3, 2009

DSC_1578

Nigella’s pork chop recipe actually asks for infused oil, and I had no idea what that was so I just used good old olive oil.

But I decided to also find out what infused oil was, and basically it’s oil infused with some kind of herb(s).

I like the concept, so I’m attempting to make my own infused oil =)

1) First, get a glass bottle.

I re-used a soba sauce bottle (which unfortunately still smells a bit of soba sauce but ah well…)

DSC_1574

2) Next, get some extra virgin olive oil.

DSC_1577

3) Get a herb that you like.

I love rosemary, so here’s some I got out of my freezer. (Yes, my freezer.  A little tip I picked up from my friend apprenticehousewife to preserve the life of unused herbs.)

DSC_1575

4) Stick the herb into the bottle, pour the olive oil into the bottle, and let the whole thing sit in a nice dark place for two weeks.

I was a little stingy with my oil, so I left the bottle lying diagonally in such a way that all of the herb is in contact with the oil.

I hope it turns out nice =) Then I can use this to cook all my pasta…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

