Skip to content

Give Your Pillowcase More Mileage

July 5, 2009

As part of the two become one deal, I now get to pack for the both of us, whenever either of us travels =)

So anyways, I had to help my husband pack for a business trip, and wondered what to do about all his dress shirts. [On a side note, Marks & Spencer has wonderful dress shirts for men that DO NOT REQUIRE IRONING (see top picture). Absolutely fabulous.]

Then I recalled that I had read somewhere that Japanese folk use nice pieces of cloth to wrap up their clothes when they travel, to keep everything neat and tidy in their bags. I thought that was a good idea, so instead of digging around for a square piece of cloth, I decided to use one of our pillow cases!

Turned out to be a very nice idea, really. The average pillow case fits up to eight folded dress shirts very comfortably, and keeps the shirts packed nice and tight and prevents them from running around the suitcase.

So, fold your shirts and stack ’em up:

DSC_1757

Stuff them into a pillowcase:

DSC_1758

Wrap up the pillowcase and put it in your suitcase. And you’re all set!

DSC_1761

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bryce's Mommy permalink
    July 23, 2009 7:00 am

    My hubby uses a “folder” to keep his shirts wrinkle free. Check link below:
    http://www.eaglecreek.com/accessories/packing_folders/

  2. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    July 24, 2009 12:00 am

    Haha you know what? It all actually started with me pottering about the house asking my husband “eh do you have that eagle creek packing stuff?” When I realized we didn’t, I had to think of a way to improvise…

Leave a Reply

