Skip to content

Cute As A Button

July 12, 2009

DSC_1776

For someone who surely is not gifted when it comes to needle and thread, I must say I’m quite pleased with myself =)

I bought this purple sweater sometime ago, at an Isetan sale. It was a little bit of an impulse buy – I think I bought it mainly because I liked the color and it was cheap.

DSC_1771

Like many of my impulse purchases, I realized after wearing it the first time that there was something about it I really didn’t like, but I couldn’t put my finger on what it was. I just thought it looked very drab. So I washed it, hung it up and didn’t wear it again for several months.

Recently I took a look at it again, and realized that what I didn’t like about the sweater, and what made it look so boring, was the buttons that were sewn down the middle. So I decided I would switch out the buttons and see if that helped. I got hold of the cute little metallic reddish buttons you see in the top photo, and replaced all the buttons on the sweater. (Note to self: BUY AN UNPICKER! Removing the old buttons took me twice as long as sewing on the new buttons.)

Anyway, what a difference it made! The seemingly minor change gave the sweater a whole lot more character, and I felt very good when I wore it to work earlier this week.

DSC_1779

DSC_1783

Now I’m thinking about other ways I can breathe life into my old/unloved clothes… If you have any fun ideas please share!

(I’m thinking of trying to replicate this cute & very expensive tank top dress I saw on some online site. It’s just a long black tank with a bunch of friendship bands sewn on. Shouldn’t be too hard right?)

LarsenGray_Dress3LarsenGray_VestDress2

6 Comments leave one →
  1. deb permalink
    July 14, 2009 10:49 pm

    i can make you the friendship bands! haha.

  2. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    July 15, 2009 11:49 am

    Haha you’re so cute =) Or you could just give me your leftover friendship bands that you found when you cleaned out your room!

  3. deb permalink
    July 17, 2009 2:36 am

    hahaha you want?? but those are kind of scrawny and..not so nice.

  4. deb permalink
    July 17, 2009 2:36 am

    i like making them though! it’s therapeutic. my favourite design is the arrow one. the other one is called totem pole i think. that one..must think a bit more. don’t like. hahaha.

  5. CHK permalink
    August 13, 2009 12:02 pm

    Just love your blog hon. it is so well done and contain great many useful little stuff.

    Perhaps i can help you now and than on diy tid bits! There are great little ideas for the home which may be done with little money and some effort.
    dad

  6. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    August 13, 2009 7:15 pm

    Thanks dad! =) Yes I can help you do a guest post on my blog… Or I can try out your tips and blog on them from my own experience…

Leave a Reply

