Skip to content

Linguine with Mushroom Ragout

August 6, 2009

DSC_0153

A coupe of weeks ago my company’s recreational club gave us a second chance to order mushrooms from Mycofarm at a discount. The first time they had done this, a good friend of mine had posted a recipe from Chubby Hubby on her office blog, to give colleagues an idea of what to do with these beautiful mushrooms.

With that in mind. I decided to go ahead and place an order this time round. The mushrooms were delivered yesterday and they were just gorgeous! The picture on top is of the shitakes, and I also got enokis, oyster mushrooms, shimeijis… (Yah ok I got a little carried away. But they’re so preeeteee…. )

See:

DSC_0151

I had to freeze some of them because I don’t think I’m going to be able to use them up in under a week. (Thank you to cooks.com for the instructions on freezing mushrooms.) Another lot I’ve kept in the refrigerator. And one hefty batch I used tonight, to make the delicious Tetsuya Pasta with Mushroom Ragout recipe I got from Chubby Hubby’s website.

Here, my pretty mushrooms lying in wait of their sizzling fate:

DSC_0156

And the final product:

TetsuyaNoodle_1

I don’t really drink so I’m not too sure what to do with the leftover sake. But it certainly was wonderfully aromatic in the ragout!

And what of my mountain of leftover mushrooms… ack. If anyone has a good recipe for a mushroom quiche, it would be much appreciated!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. apprenticehousewife permalink
    August 8, 2009 3:56 pm

    Yummers! This does look good. Altho u bought way more than I did, u were also far more industrious! I left mine in the fridge (not freezer) till they bred more fungi 🙂 *lol*

  2. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    August 13, 2009 7:14 pm

    Haha I still had lots in the fridge to use. And I have to say it’s amazing how many ways you can use mushrooms if you really put your mind to it!

Leave a Reply

