Skip to content

When Life Hands You A Lemon

August 10, 2009

As promised, here is my third lemon-related post =)

Believe it or not, until very recently, I did all my lemon squeezing with nothing but my bare hands -> tired hands, and lots of wasted juice.

Thankfully, while I was strolling thru NTUC Fairprice Finest a few weeks ago, I spotted this:

DSC_0171

A simple but clever citrus squeezer from the Koziol line of kitchenware. What’s great about it is the boat catches the juice, and the pointy ends allow for easy pouring. See:

DSC_0164

DSC_0167

I was amazed just how much more juice I got using this contraption than what I usually got just using my hands. Yes I have been living in the stone age.

The one and only deficiency of this product, if you’d like to call it that, is that it doesn’t allow you to separate the juice from the seeds – so you have to pour your juice through a strainer.

This range does carry all  kinds of quirky products though:

Koziol

I poked around the net for citrus squeezers just now and actually found two alternative solutions that enable you to (a) squeeze the life out of those lemons (b) catch the seeds and (c) pour easily. Here’s the more sensible looking one:

Citrus_Squeezer

And here’s the really cool one from Alessi that I love but I’m sure costs a bundle (you turn over the hat to squeeze the lemon, the juice is strained through the base of the hat, and the body has a little spout at the top for pouring. So clever!):

a-di-alessi-mandarin-citrus-squeezer-goblet-A_size1

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

