Skip to content

Pierre Hermé Chocolate & Raspberry Tart

August 24, 2009

Pierre Herme Tart

One evening at the end of the work day, my sweet colleague and friend bounded up to my desk and said, “It was AMAZING!”

I stared at her blankly for a few seconds, wondering what in the world she was referring to. She finally pointed to the empty tupperware in her hand, and I realized she was talking about the slice of tart that I had handed to her earlier in the day. Ah =) Heartwarming…

Yup, I finally had a go at baking my very first tart two weeks ago! And I’m pleased to say it went quite well. All thanks to my precious Pierre Hermé chocolate dessert book, which finally arrived in the mail from Amazon. (That’s the guy whose cookie recipe I’ve used many times this year. He really knows his chocolate!)

I thought to start off with his Chocolate and Raspberry Tart because it looked pretty, and I wanted to try making a tart. And ooh… it was scrumptious =) I’m a little too lazy to post the recipe this time, but here are some pictures for your viewing pleasure.

——-

I started off by making the dough, a portion of which I had to press into my pie tin and poke holes in with a fork. (The rest of the dough went into the freezer.)

DSC_0037

Then I weighed down the dough with some rice before putting it into the oven.

DSC_0038

After I took the dough out of the oven, I scattered a couple of raspberries over it.

DSC_0040

Then I melted some ever-excellent Valrhona chocolate with butter, and mixed it with egg and sugar…

DSC_0039

… and poured the mix into the pie crust.

DSC_0041

I let the pie bake for a little while more, scattered more raspberries over the top of it, and ta da – the final product! The chocolate filling was soft, rich and delicious, and the slight sourness of the berries gave it extra kick. As you can see in the picture below, part of the crust looked a wee bit burnt, but oddly it tasted great. Still, I would bake it for a slightly shorter time the next time round, to get the color just right.

This was fun =)

Pierre Herme Tart 2

Addendum (11 Jan 2010): I discovered that a reader had a go at making the tart after she read my post, using a copy of the recipe which she found here.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Angie permalink
    August 26, 2009 6:07 pm

    I am salivating… still…

  2. deb permalink
    August 27, 2009 9:43 pm

    looks goooood clare!! hi (:

  3. apprenticehousewife permalink
    August 28, 2009 9:06 am

    Lks great! is the book any good?

  4. August 28, 2009 2:50 pm

    Wow! That looks really nice! I’m tempted to try baking that too. Where do you buy the Valrhona chocolate from?

    By the way, I’m one of those random lurkers. I chanced upon your blog and now always read it but never comment. :X

  5. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    August 28, 2009 6:20 pm

    Debs: Hi =) We miss you…

    Apprenticehousewife: I’ve only tried this one recipe (well two recipes – the crust was a separate recipe =) But everything in the book looks fantastic. A friend informed me that Dorie Greenspan’s also the author of Baking with Julia (of Julie & Julia fame).

    Fari: We love random lurkers! =) Thanks for reading… I usually get my Valrhona from Shermay’s (Chip Bee Garden) but you can also get it from Sun Lik (Seah Street) and ET Artisan Sweets (opp Henry Park).

  6. Patty permalink
    August 31, 2009 9:08 am

    That looks yummy! If you are worried about getting the crust too dark, covering the crust with aluminum foil before you put in the filling would work too.

  7. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    August 31, 2009 6:59 pm

    Hi Patty! =) That’s a great tip. I’m going to be making the tart again soon so I’ll definitely try what you suggested…

Leave a Reply

