Skip to content

Harumi & Me

September 20, 2009

Harumi_Book

A good friend recently bought me Julie Powell’s “Julie & Julia” to read. Very good fun. For those of you who haven’t caught the buzz about the upcoming movie, the book is a semi-fiction semi-biographical story of this lady Julie Powell, who endeavours to cook all 524 recipes from Julia Child’s cookbook in the span of one year. (The cooking part is true – just some of the details are made up.)

So that provides the context for my latest project =)

Last week I was staring at my mountain of cookbooks and feeling like I shouldn’t let them go to waste. Then suddenly Julie came to mind, and I thought, “why don’t I try to get through one of my cookbooks?” I pulled my Harumi book on Japanese cooking off the shelf, spent a little while leafing through it, and concluded that it would the perfect book to try to follow over several months.

Harumi is an inspiration. Some people call her Japan’s Delia Smith, some call her Japan’s Martha Stewart, but I think she’s in a quieter, subtler class of her own. There’s lots of stuff about her on the internet so I won’t get into the details here, but I will say that I love her recipes because they’re written for regular people who want to cook for their families. Very within reach.

So with that, I’m going to try to do 2-3 of Harumi’s recipes every weekend (save for when I’m travelling or sick), and see how far I get. I’m not going to try all 80 or recipes because some are for sushi dishes, and I feel silly making my own sushi when I live close to a great Japanese fish market that sells delicious sushi; and some contain stuff that my husband doesn’t eat. But I’m going to get through as much as I can.

I love a good project! Very exciting =D

Write me some comments along the way ok? I’ll persevere better with a little encouragement…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lazy Susan permalink
    September 21, 2009 10:23 am

    Gambeteh!

    I’ve got the same cookbook too, but have not really tried any of the recipes!

    Looking forward to reading about yr project developments!

  2. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    September 22, 2009 11:30 pm

    Thanks babe =) Let’s hope I stick to it for at least a month!!

  3. November 13, 2009 7:22 am

    Ooh, you’re right, it is a very similar project to what we are doing now! 🙂

    Good luck with getting through your cookbooks! It is a big challenge, but it definitely helps you use your cookbooks more!

Leave a Reply

