Skip to content

Harumi & Me (Week 2)

September 26, 2009

DSC_0082

I realized with a panic last night that I wouldn’t be able to continue my Harumi project this weekend because of F1.

So I sheepishly postponed an appointment with a good friend so I could do my Japanese cooking for lunch today. (B if you’re reading this: I’m so sorry!) In any case I wanted to make sure my husband was well-fed since he has to go for his IPPT later.

I chose two light recipes today:

Tofu with Hot Spring Egg ‘Onsen Tamago’

Pan-Fried Noodles with Pork & Pak Choy

Some of the ingredients:

DSC_0066

And I finally got to use my new pack of Bonito flakes, which I found, to my surprise, at Giant. This is the stuff that’s used to make Dashi – the staple Japanese fish stock used in a whole host of dishes.

DSC_0069

For the purposes of today’s meal, the Bonito flakes were used to make the sauce for the Tofu dish (pictured at the top), which was SO GOOD! And so easy to make =)  Just a piece of tofu, wrapped in kitchen towel to absorb extra liquid, with a hole dug out at the top where you pour your hot spring egg. Then pour the cooked sauce of Bonito flakes, soy sauce, mirin and sake over the top. (The hot spring egg is basically the soft boiled egg you get at Yakun. Put the eggs into a heat resistant cup/bowl of boiling water, let sit for 10-12 minutes, and crack open.)

DSC_0083

The noodle was good to0, though we both liked the tofu better. Harumi said to fry the noodles till they were crunchy but I was afraid I’d burn them, so I just fried them for a couple of minutes till they were nice and springy. I could probably have afforded to cook them a wee bit longer I think. The sauce was “tasty” according to my husband, but also quite salty – I’m not sure if the main culprit was the chicken stock, the soy sauce or the salt used to marinade the pork.

Anyway, the amount of food was just right, and my tummy felt happy after.

Week 2 of the Harumi project: COMPLETE!

DSC_0080

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Bryce's Mommy permalink
    September 28, 2009 12:07 am

    The dishes look so good! I must get this Harumi cookbook and attempt some of your selected dishes after we move to our new place =)

  2. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    September 28, 2009 12:47 am

    Thank you dear! And ooh can you wait till December? Saves me a Christmas headache =)

  3. mrmultitasker permalink
    October 31, 2009 11:41 pm

    These were yummy, dearie. Especially the tofu with egg!

Leave a Reply

