Skip to content

Crafty crafty

September 30, 2009

DSC_0013_2

One day at lunch my niece decided I should be her origami machine: She feeds me paper, and I fold it into something vaguely resembling an animal, plant or household object. Since then, anytime I see her, she usually has a little piece of flat colored paper in her hand, ready for us to turn it into something with a little more soul =)

So now I’m actually kinda into origami, and other crafty things… Mostly origami though. It’s not because of my Harumi project, although it’s rather strange and humorous that I’m now into so many things Japanese when I can’t speak a word of the language. Hai!

I even tried my hand at making a Japanese knot with colored wire. I remember we used to do this in I think Secondary School, but let me tell you it’s a whole lot easier with nice thick strings than with wire. I think I had to chant red-pink-purple-green red-pink-purple-green for a good ten minutes before I got all the wires in place.

DSC_0026_2

And here something I found amusing. More origami:

Tulip

Oh it’s not that big… just about 8 inches high =)

It’s fun to make things. I think sitting at my desk all day can really suffocate all that creative energy…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Non cooking gal permalink
    October 1, 2009 8:23 pm

    I love origami. I used to be really good at it. Love all the japanese origami books although some of the objects are just incomprehensible!!

  2. Non cooking gal permalink
    October 1, 2009 8:25 pm

    Oh and nice knot. I love doing chinese knots… I have made a lobster from chinese knots but i have forgotten how to do it. ARGHHHHHHH

  3. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    October 1, 2009 11:42 pm

    Ooh Chinese knots are fun too. I remember making many many dragonflies…

Leave a Reply

