Skip to content

Garlic & Onion Oil

October 10, 2009

DSC_0005

I had to make a batch of this before making the green beans & minced meat dish in this week’s Harumi meal.

Wonderfully fragrant. I absolutely recommend making a batch that you can store for a couple of weeks and use when frying other meat & vegetable dishes.

Just get a cup of sunflower oil, a clove of thinly sliced garlic (I didn’t have fresh garlic so I used my pre-chopped garlic from the bottle), 100g of thinly sliced onion, and 50g of finely chopped spring onion.

DSC_0001

Dump it all into a wok and set the heat to low-medium.

DSC_0002

When the spring onion looks dark and dull, remove the wok from the heat, and filter the oil using kitchen towels (I put a piece of kitchen towel into my sieve and poured the oil through into a bowl.) Leave it to cool, then store in a bottle.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 13, 2009 7:33 am

    I can just imagine how fragrant this must smell when you are cooking it. Yum!

Leave a Reply

