Skip to content

Molten Chocolate Cake

October 20, 2009

DSC_0139

While I was tidying up my recipe box in my kitchen a few days ago, I chanced upon this recipe for Molten Chocolate Cake that a friend gave to me a very long time ago but which I never used, and I thought “gee this looks real easy”. Since I had been wanting to use some of the copious amounts of Valrhona chocolate I still had in my refrigerator, I decided I would make me some Molten Chocolate Cake in the coming week when I had the chance. (It just so happens that my friend apprenticehousewife just made this for a dinner party too, and hers looked real pretty in their nice white ramekins.)

So anyways, tonight was the night. After dinner, I pieced together my own recipe from four or five similar but not identical recipes that I found online, and set about baking. The process was surprisingly easy, and the product was close to perfect (but not 100%, and I’ll tell you why as I go through the steps below…)

Ingredients (4 portions to share among 8 people):

125g High-Grade Dark Chocolate
115g Butter
60g Caster Sugar
2 Eggs
2 Egg Yolks
45g Flour

*You don’t need an electric mixer for this recipe.

DSC_0133

Directions:

1. Pre-heat oven to 200degC. Lightly grease or butter four ramekins or big muffin cups and put them on a baking tray.

2. Slowly melt the chocolate and butter in a heat-proof dish perched over a pot of boiling water (dish should not touch the water). Make sure chocolate and butter are fully melted.

– To melt chocolate I usually use a good cheap metal dish I got from Daiso that sits nicely atop my smallest saucepan. –

DSC_0135

3. Pour chocolate mix into a bigger mixing bowl. Use a whisk to mix in the sugar, then the eggs and egg yolk. Finally stir in the flour.

– Tonight I got to use my funky new Presto Whip that my mom picked up for me in Australia. It’s quite good! Incorporates everything pretty quick. –

– BUT be sure to stir slowly, and don’t over-stir because that incorporates too much air into the mix. (You can see the result of such folly in my photo in step 4.) –

DSC_0136

4. Pour batter into the ramekins/muffin cups.

– I used my terrific silicon muffin cups from Daiso (I just love Daiso). Sure beats having to wash muffin trays, which I abhor! –

– See the air bubbles below? Stirred much too much and too fast. It’s not a big deal, but if you have big air bubbles caught at the bottom of the cups, then what happens is when you turn out the cakes later on, their top surface won’t be smooth. –

DSC_0137

5. Bake for 10-12 mins till cake tops appear just cooked.

– Make sure the oven is set to 200degC and no higher. I actually put the oven to a higher temperature and the cakes cooked too fast, so the insides weren’t as runny as I would have liked by the time I took them out of the oven. –

6. Remove cakes from oven, pop them out onto serving dishes (after maybe half a minute), and serve with vanilla ice cream.

– If you use silicon bakeware the cakes should come out very easily. If you have trouble getting the cakes out of your bakeware, use a knife to go round the periphery. –

And if the insides aren’t runny at all, have no fear! Fondants (as they are otherwise known) are lovely to eat regardless. In fact the little sandwich place at the base of my office building sells fondants with their insides all solid and they are delish!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2009 12:17 am

    yum!
    check out my food blog and tell me what you think:
    http://thegodscake.wordpress.com

    Michael

  2. Lazy Susan permalink
    October 21, 2009 11:10 pm

    Looks great! i’ve never been able to get my molten cakes out of the ramekins…shall try using yr recipe…

  3. Patty permalink
    October 22, 2009 10:33 am

    Those look so good! If you’re worried about air bubbles, you can also drop the muffin cups (it’s kind of fun) so that the bubbles and batter settle. I do that with my cake pans all the time (though it’s louder with the pans!).

  4. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    October 23, 2009 9:00 am

    Hi Michael! Thanks. Love all the pumpkin recipes on your blog =)

  5. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    October 23, 2009 9:08 am

    Hi Patty that sounds fun =) I guess you just have to be careful not to drop the cups/tray so hard that you get batter all over the floor…
    Lazy Susan: I’m sure you can do it! Just remember to butter/oil the ramekins beforehand…

  6. mrmultitasker permalink
    November 1, 2009 12:01 am

    Air bubbles or not, it was still yummy! =) Happy to get rid of any imperfect specimens for you (though I might have to put in an extra run or two after…)…

  7. angie permalink
    December 29, 2009 12:06 pm

    This looks so good and you make it seem so fun and simple. I must try it soon. 🙂

  8. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    December 29, 2009 7:14 pm

    Angie: you should! You can definitely do it. And your daughters will be so impressed and thrilled (it’s yummy).

Leave a Reply

