Skip to content

What’s Playing on My Stereo

October 30, 2009

DSC_0003

The 2009 Starbucks Christmas album. Ah.

Today I discovered that Starbucks had already trimmed itself for Christmas – red signboards, red paper bags, yuletide bears, and most importantly, festive drinks. I got myself my first Toffee Nut Latte of the season which, for the less initiated, is the best Starbucks drink ever. My friendly barista told me that they had run out of chocolate sauce the previous day because of the overwhelming demand for Peppermint Mochas, but peppermint schmeppermint I say. Toffee Nut is the money.

This morning was also when I procured my Starbucks Christmas CD. No one does carols like Bing Crosby, Nat King Cole, Frank Sinatra and Ella. (Karen Carpenter’s christmas music is also magic, but there isn’t any of her on this album). Some things should never be re-invented, like Christmas Carols and Singapore National Day Songs. No matter how many new-fangled disco pop tunes our government commissions each August, you still see all those hands going up in the air only when we start singing Count On Me Singapore and Stand Up For Singapore. No matter how many fancy rock and R&B Christmas songs crowd the airwaves each December, you haven’t heard a carol till you’ve heard Nat King Cole’s O Holy Night or Sinatra’s Christmas Waltz.

I’m Christian so I feel somewhat unspiritual for saying this, but I have to admit that once I had this CD of largely areligious Christmas music playing in my car, it still began to feel a little bit like Christmas… My brother told me he got the CD too, but it wasn’t giving him much of a vibe. I think maybe it’s because I listened to mine in air-conditioning. It’s gets a little bit dissonant listening to songs about frosted window-panes, sleigh rides and white Christmases in 90-degree weather and 80% humidity.

Also, I think you just need to be in the cold to really know what it feels like to be nice and warm. (Most of the time in this tropical city it’s just more warm than nice =). I suppose that’s why non-religious Christmas music, at least the classic stuff, makes me feel warm inside anyway, because it reminds me that no matter how cold and harsh it can be outside, there are people who love me and a Saviour who holds me, so there is always a reason to celebrate.

And with that, I am very much missing the one I love most. I am so glad you’re coming home tomorrow…

One Comment leave one →
  1. mrmultitasker permalink
    October 31, 2009 10:51 pm

    I’m glad to be home, sweetie!

Leave a Reply

