Skip to content

Caramel Pumpkin Tart

November 2, 2009

DSC_0031_3

I finally got to use my homemade pumpkin puree!

A good friend of mine, who does many things brilliantly but cooking & baking in particular, gave me an incredible recipe for Caramel Pumpkin Tart (you should click on the link just to visit her blog, which is also brilliant). So since I had three hours free this afternoon, between watching This Is It (also brilliant!) and going to a wedding dinner, I decided to put my purée to good use.

What I liked most about the recipe was that I didn’t have to use my mixer, which I love but find extremely onerous to wash. (But I did have to use my blender because my pumpkin meat had separated from its water content while thawing in the refrigerator, so I had to re-blend it to get back the right consistency.)

Since I’ve already linked the recipe, here’s a photo-log of the process…

The digestive biscuit + butter crust, in the process of being pressed into the tin.
This was tons of work cos the crust was very crumbly. I would recommend using 150g of digestives instead of 200g (I think the recipe has a bit of a typo and lists both quantities).

DSC_0005

The FANTASTIC caramel sauce, after it stopped bubbling.
Just sugar, heavy cream, kahlua and butter. (The recipe called for rum but I only had kahlua so kahlua it was =)

Caramel Sauce

The filling – pumpkin puree, sugar, some lovely spices, eggs, and caramel sauce.

DSC_0007

The lovely spices.

DSC_0010

Ready for the oven!

DSC_0008

And just out of the oven.
Isn’t that a pretty colour…

DSC_0011

The remaining heavy cream with some icing sugar and vanilla, waiting to be whipped.

DSC_0020

And the finished product =)
Not the neatest, because I wasn’t concentrating while piping (and I’m not that great at piping even when I am concentrating…). But still pretty, and absolutely delicious! SO GOOD! Sweet, spicy and rich without being overwhelming. Maybe we’ll do this again at Christmas…

DSC_0021_2

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2009 5:43 am

    wow this looks delicious!

  2. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    November 3, 2009 3:19 pm

    Oh I checked with my friend from whom I got the recipe, and I think you can use 200g digestive biscuits. Thinking about it now if you use 150g of biscuits and your pie tin is as wide as mine you might not have enough to cover the whole base.

    So use 200g of biscuits. But you can afford to add an extra 5 to 10 g of butter to help it all hold together (so 80 to 85g of butter in total).

  3. Anne permalink
    November 5, 2009 12:32 pm

    Hi, Clare! I really like your website and this tart looks delicious! Do you have any recommendations for substitutions if I don’t have any digestive biscuits in our local U.S. supermarket? I loved these biscuits when I lived in England my junior yr of college, and am especially missing them right now after seeing your yummy recipe!

    Your friend, Anne

  4. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    November 5, 2009 2:26 pm

    Anne! So nice to hear from you =) In the US people usually substitute Digestives with Graham Crackers. They have a similar texture I think…. you should try it and let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

