Skip to content

Pumpkin Curry Soup

November 9, 2009

Alrighty here’s the last installment in the pumpkin series.

I had one more batch of pumpkin purée left after making the caramel pumpkin tart, so I decided to make some Pumpkin Curry Soup to eat with the leftover pork from Saturday’s dinner. I used Japanese curry instead of curry powder, which I think gave it a richer flavour. My husband like the soup so much he had four bowls of it (!), some of which he used as a sauce for the pork instead of the bottled apple sauce that I had brought out.

Without further ado, here is the recipe.

Ingredients (6-8 servings):

3 cups of vegetable broth
3 cubes of Vermont Curry (about 65g)
1 cup of pumpkin purée or 1 can of pumpkin
1 cup of whole milk or cream (whichever you have on hand)
2 tbsp corn starch + 2 tsp water
Salt
Pepper
Sugar

Directions:

1. Pour vegetable stock into medium sized pan. Bring to boil.
(I used Marigold’s wonderful Swiss vegetable bouillon powder, which I had randomly picked up at the supermarket a few weeks ago. It’s great to drink on its own too. If you don’t have vegetable stock, then chicken stock would suffice.)

2. Add curry cubes and stir till dissolved.

3. Add pumpkin puree and milk/cream. Stir till soup is smooth.
(Cream would be better, but I used milk tonight because that was all I had, and it was fine really, just less dense.)

4. Mix 2 tbsp corn starch with 2 tsp water, and pour into the soup. Stir through.
(If you want a thicker soup feel free to add more starch. I kept mine thinner so it wouldn’t be too heavy.)

5. Add salt, pepper and sugar to taste. Simmer till soup is at your desired consistency.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lazy Susan permalink
    November 9, 2009 9:27 pm

    i love pumpkin soup!!! this recipe sounds really good! mrs multitasker… u r making me hungry!!!

  2. mrmultitasker permalink
    November 10, 2009 11:37 am

    The soup was yummy yummy yummy! Feel like having some more!!!

  3. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    November 10, 2009 9:15 pm

    Thank you Lazy Susan! And my dear mrmultitasker =)

Leave a Reply

