Skip to content

Reese’s in Cake Form

November 14, 2009

Reese’s in cake form – that’s how my sister-in-law described the Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes I made using Annie’s Eats awesome recipe, when she came over this afternoon along with some other friends.

The silly thing is, I actually made the cupcakes for my niece’s birthday tomorrow, forgetting that my nephew (her little brother) is allergic to peanuts! Ack! So I don’t know if it’s even safe for me to bring the cupcakes to the party. The good news is I have only half the number of cupcakes left after our many visitors came by today.

The cupcakes were delish and I’m very glad I tried the recipe, but it was hard work! Had to line the cupcake trays (you like my pretty orange & yellow wrappers from Spotlight? =), make the peanut butter filling, roll the filling into little balls, then make the cake batter which had many parts (i.e. tons of washing up), and fill the wrappers with a layer of batter, then the peanut butter balls, then another layer of batter. *whew*

Since you can get the recipe off Annie’s website, I’m just posting a couple of pictures here for your viewing pleasure.

Here are some shots of the prep work:

Filling the cupcake wrappers:

And what the cupcakes looked like out of the oven:

This next one isn’t the nicest picture, but I thought I’d show you the pains I went through to keep the creepy crawlies away from my precious cupcakes while they were left out to cool =) I had them raised on a bowl that was sittting in a tray of water, to drown any ants that wanted to try anything funny (a little trick I learnt from my mom). And I surrounded the tray with eggshells to keep away the lizards! Haha.

Voila, the finished product. Valrhona and peanut butter – how to go wrong? =)

Oh that reminds me – I actually made a big boo-boo with the frosting, using whipping cream instead of frozen whipped because I had a little case of whipping cream in my refrigerator. So the frosting was way runny and impossible to pipe. It still tasted good though, so I smeared it on in small quantities…

Ooh I feel like eating another… but so much washing up to do first…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Constance permalink
    November 14, 2009 10:31 pm

    hahah..yeah the egg shells to keep the lizard away is funny.

  2. November 14, 2009 10:45 pm

    wow looks so yummy!

    Michael

  3. mrmultitasker permalink
    November 15, 2009 12:44 am

    It was very yummy indeed! As my sis said, it’s Reese’s in a cupcake! =)

  4. November 15, 2009 1:19 am

    laugh..you do me proud me dear….

    i’m amazed at all your japanese cooking, well done you.

  5. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    November 15, 2009 4:01 pm

    Thanks everyone! Wey, Michael and mrmultitasker =)
    Constance – whatever works right? =) I just need to keep away all the eggshells before guests come over…

  6. Angie permalink
    November 16, 2009 10:19 am

    It is super good!

  7. Patty permalink
    November 19, 2009 7:50 am

    Oh those look so tasty!! Are there lots of lizards that manage to crawl into households?!

  8. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    November 19, 2009 8:44 am

    Hi patty! Yes in singapore they’re everywhere. It’s hoooooorriiiiible….

Leave a Reply

