Skip to content

Harumi & Me (Week 8)

November 16, 2009


I finally made Agedashi Tofu! Not perfectly, but still.. it was nice trying to make something that we always order when we go to Japanese restaurants.

We had the craziest weekend, so I decided to take it easy and do just two dishes yesterday evening (at least, I thought it would be easy… 🙂

On the menu:
Agedashi Tofu
Chicken with Red and Green Peppers

I’m sure a couple of you would like to know how to make agedashi tofu, so I’ll post the whole recipe after this. To start off, I had to wrap the tofu in kitchen paper and let it drain for half am hour. It’s amazing how much liquid is trapped in a block of tofu! Then I had to prepare the garnish and make the sauce, both of which went fine. Trouble arose only when I was trying to coat the tofu in flour before deep frying it… That’s when it all started coming to pieces, literally! (More in the next post.)

The chicken dish was nice, though nothing spectacular. Reminded me of the Ayam Tempra I learnt how to make at a very basic nonya class in Ulu Pandan CC a few months back.

*Oh yes, as per one reader’s request, I have backposted two recipes that I really liked. Here are the links:

Salmon Teriyaki

Asparagus with Crab Mayonnaise

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2009 6:05 am

    I love both of the dishes. Can’t wait to read your recipe for the agedashi tofu and the nyonya dish looks so appertizing.

  2. Non cooking gal permalink
    November 17, 2009 1:40 pm

    agedashi tofu is one of my favs! YUM!

  3. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    November 18, 2009 6:57 pm

    i love this dish too! It was fun trying to make it.
    Ellie I’m only posting the recipe for the tofu – let me know if you really want the chicken & peppers recipe? (or the ayam tempra recipe – not exactly the same!)

Leave a Reply

