Skip to content

Harumi & Me (Week 9)

November 30, 2009

I took a little break from the Harumi project last weekend, because of that big family do we had at our place. And this past weekend I decided to wait till today (Monday) to carry on with my Japanese cooking since I was going to be on leave.

So tonight we had:

Spinach Noodle Soup

Mackerel ‘Tatsuta Age’ Style

The noodle soup was good – mild and nothing to shout about, but a nice light accompaniment to the fish. The recipe asked for Harusame noodles or thin rice noodles, but I couldn’t find any Harusame so I just went with bee hoon. And I used much more of it than stated because it was going to be our carb for the evening.

Now the Mackerel ‘Tatsuta Age’ Style – very delicious, except… I didn’t use mackerel. (Yup – not much luck with my grocery shopping this week!) I hunted high and low for mackerel or herring (a fair substitute), but neither was to be found. So after trying three different supermarkets, I gave up and picked up a pack of Toman. Completely different sort of fish, but I just decided to get something cheap and that looked easy to fry.

And all’s well that ends well since it turned out to be an excellent recipe, and the fish dish turned out quite delish (am I a poet or what).

I realized after all the cooking that I had cooked bee hoon soup and fried fish slices, and I thought, “Hmm. Japanese yu pian mi fen.” =)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

