Skip to content

Making Macarons (Preview)

December 15, 2009

Tonight I attended a macaron class with Lazy Susan and Apprentice Housewife, at the Tangs Kitchen in Vivocity. So much fun! Clara Lee is a fun instructor (and a gifted baker for someone so young!).

The picture above isn’t the best cos I took it with my iPhone. (I’m counting on my two accomplices to provide me with real pictures! I forgot to bring my cam. Silly me…) Still though, you can see how tantalising the macarons looked =)

Clara’s doing another round of classes at Tangs in January, where she might be teaching some Chinese New Year-appropriate macaron recipes. So you should check back on the Tangs Kitchen website that I linked above if you’re interested!

Another post to follow, with more pictures from the class, and hopefully yet another post in January, detailing my attempts at making macarons =D

(Are you guys still reading my blog? It’s been so quiet on the comment front… I feel like I’m talking to myself!)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. chocolate gal permalink
    December 15, 2009 11:04 pm

    so now you know how i feel talking tomyself most of the time. MUhahahahahaha

    Wooo Macarons! Lovely. Once, I thought of making macaroons. After i saw the receipe, i promptly closed the book and switched to something easier. too many steps and i have to have baking inspiration. so by the time i let the dough chill, my inspiration will probably be gone. Another reason why I will not be making croissant anytime soon. =P

  2. chocolate gal permalink
    December 15, 2009 11:11 pm

    Oh Btw, a good way to keep macaroons. keep them in the freezer . Works realy well and keeps them crisp. I have 10 sitting in my freezer as we speak.

  3. apprenticehousewife permalink
    December 16, 2009 8:46 am

    You’re so prompt! The mark of an exccccellent blogger!

    N I’m lookin’ forward to ur next post headline! 😀

  4. December 16, 2009 12:31 pm

    Well done! They look gorgeous! Pleasure to have met you yesterday 🙂 Thank you again for that gem of a book.

    Ju

  5. Constance permalink
    December 16, 2009 10:52 pm

    yeah…reading ur blog. just a bit busy baking lately lah. oh yeh, today one of ur accomplices offer me a piece of the lovely macaroons…wow nice u know. but i feel that the ground almonds still not fine enough. after i finish eating the whole things…*yum yum*…i am still busying chewing on the bits of almonds. i heard it’s lots of work…maybe i shd go learn too….but after xmas. yeah pls add more fillings….i prefer a thicker filling. 🙂

  6. December 17, 2009 8:07 am

    Perfect macarons!! Can’t wait for more details and pictures 🙂

  7. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    December 17, 2009 11:49 pm

    chocolate gal: Maybe we can try making macarons together in Jan!
    apprenticehousewife: Right back at ya babe =)
    Ju: Again, so nice to have met you…
    Constance: Maybe you were chewing on bits of pistachio?
    Ellie: Nice to hear from you! I’m amazed you still manage to blog so often =)

  8. mrmultitasker permalink
    December 18, 2009 1:52 pm

    Hey look, there are white breadcrumbs falling all over your macarons! Oh… they’re supposed to be snowflakes for the season? =)

Leave a Reply

