Skip to content

Steak with Peppercorn Sauce

December 29, 2009

It’s so nice to be able to cook a normal meal again! Tonight I brought out the steak and pork fillets that had been sitting pretty in my freezer for far too long, cooked it all up and made a nice peppercorn sauce to go along. Lots of protein, very little carb =)

Thanks to Coach Jon, my husband and I are thoroughly convinced that we need to lay off all that sugar and carb if we want our waistlines to recede. (Well, I was pretty convinced until I noticed those lonely boxes of Magnum ice cream in my department refrigerator earlier today…) *Ahem* Anyway as I was saying, we’re trying to cut down our carb intake, so tonight we just did lots of protein.

I decided to try making a peppercorn sauce because we really like the Steak with Black Pepper Sauce at Hooha Cafe, and I thought maybe I could replicate the sauce. And I’m pleased to say it came very close!

So for those of you wanting to whip up a relatively quick and simple meal, here’s my recipe (note that the sauce ingredient quantities are not precise – you can add or subtract to your own liking):

Steak with Peppercorn Sauce (for 2 persons)

Ingredients:
2 steaks
25g unsalted butter
1 shallot, chopped
250ml beef stock (if you’re using Knorr beef cubes, dissolve half a cube in 250ml water)
150ml whipping cream
1 tbsp black peppercorns
Salt and ground pepper

Preparation:

1) Pound the peppercorns into coarse bits. Use a mortar and pestle if you have, otherwise put them in a ziplock bag, place the bag on a chopping board, and use something heavy (hammer, meat tenderiser) to pound on the peppercorns. Here’s a picture of the peppercorns being pulverized in my fabulous new mortar and pestle – a gift from some dear people who flew it all the way here from Bangkok!

Directions:

1) Wash and dry the steaks. (If you don’t dry them the steaks won’t brown.) Season with salt and ground pepper.

2) Melt butter in a pan/griddle on high heat. When butter has been bubbling for a bit and the pan looks suitably hot, throw on the steaks and cook for 3-4 minutes on each side, depending on thickness and how cooked you like your steak.

4) Remove steaks and put them on the serving plates.

5) Throw the chopped shallot onto the still-greasy pan, and cook till light brown.

6) Pour on the beef stock, allow to simmer for a bit so some of the liquid can evaporate.

7) Add the peppercorns and whipping cream. Continue to simmer till sauce reaches your desired consistency. Add salt to taste. If you want it thicker add a small amount of corn starch dissolved in water.

8) Serve hot!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Patty permalink
    December 30, 2009 11:47 am

    In addition to the carrots, you could also add some roasted asparagus and sauteed green beans with garlic.
    Reading and thinking about food always makes me hungry, even after I just ate!

  2. apprenticehousewife permalink
    December 30, 2009 6:25 pm

    Heyhey, I really like the picture of ur mortar and pestle 🙂

  3. January 1, 2010 8:30 am

    Lovely steak. I love the thick creamy sauce! Wishing you a very happy new year 🙂

  4. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    January 1, 2010 8:54 pm

    Patty: Thanks! I did think the dish could use a little more color =) But I was going for whatever was in my refrigerator at the time…
    apprenticehousewife: Thanks =) It’s a really nice shape too… cube-ish
    Ellie: Happy New Year too! And thanks… am following your gorgeous holiday recipes in amazement…

Leave a Reply

