Skip to content

Three Bowls of Asam Laksa…

January 3, 2010

Yes I think I had close to three full bowls of asam laksa yesterday. Along with samplings of Thai laksa (more lemak than asam laksa), Hokkien mee (what Singaporeans know as prawn mee), curry mee, char koay teow, wan ton hor fun, lor bak (what we call ngor hiang), poh piah (spring rolls), chye tao kway (fried carrot cake), cuttlefish, rojak, chendol, ice kachang and tau huay. I kid you not.

(Did I mention before that we’re cutting down on carbs? Haha. Maybe after this trip to Penang.)

Anyway, I thought I’d post some pictures of our foodie adventures, and also say that I’m determined to make a passable asam laksa sometime in the not too distant future. I just lurve asam laksa =)

At Lorong Selamat

Hokkien Mee

Asam Laksa

Lor Bak

At Goodall Cafe on Gottlieb Road

More Asam Laksa

More Lor Bak

Wan Ton Hor Fun

Poh Piah

At Gurney

Tau Huay

Apom

And more unhealthy goodness at Island Glades this morning

Ham Chim Pang

Here, the making of the best best Min Chiang Kueh ever (a light crispy pastry filled with nuts/egg/corn).

After the egg is cooked, sprinkle on some peanuts, and fold the kueh in half in one quick motion.

And voila! Finger lickin’ good.

I’ve never eaten so much in two days. But it’s all so very good! Ack…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 6:57 am

    You are killing me with all the food pictures. I have such a great craving for all the food listed. lol!!!

  2. January 4, 2010 12:46 pm

    Argh!!! Your post is making me so hungry and crave all this food so much! I think I need to make a trip to Singapore soon! 🙂 There is no authentic place to get this stuff in Melbourne!

  3. mrmultitasker permalink
    January 4, 2010 4:32 pm

    So much for our cutting down on carbs.. but it was so so yummy!! Need to detox now though. =)

  4. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    January 5, 2010 4:01 pm

    Ellie: Nice to hear from you! I have definitely OD’ed on Penang food… too much of a good thing =)
    Rilsta: This was in Penang! =) Though York Hotel in Singapore did just have a Penang food fair too… you should come visit!
    mrmultitasker: I’m putting us on a high protein diet dear…

  5. January 6, 2010 12:06 am

    What a fruitful trip you had! Your mouth-watering photos make me homesick lah. 😉

  6. January 6, 2010 12:43 am

    Wow…you ate so much! what a fruitful trip! 🙂 I love Penang too, the people and the food are so nice!

  7. January 6, 2010 1:02 pm

    My goodness! What a feast for the eyes!!! I put Penang on my “to-visit” list after eating chendol at little penang kafe in KL, and then I see your post. All the food I want to eat when I am there … good grief, I am actually salivating as I type!!!

  8. trissalicious permalink
    January 6, 2010 6:29 pm

    Argh – this looks so good. I tell you , I must have come from Penang in a previous life as the food you have here is exactly what I enjoy!

  9. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    January 6, 2010 11:05 pm

    food-4tots: oh yes i had forgotten you’re from m’sia! time to make a trip home…
    ladyhomechef: haha yes i was quite a pig.. the pictures don’t even show half of what we tried!
    Ju: let me know if you need recommendations before you go!
    trissa: haha =) i’m actually not from penang, but the food is definitely top-notch…

Leave a Reply

