Skip to content

Chinese Egg & Tomato

January 18, 2010

Some vey sweet friends took me to Soup Restaurant for lunch the other day. In addition to the staple orders of Samsui Chicken, potato leaves and minced pork (I can’t remember the name of his dish), we also ordered a tomato & egg dish that was off the menu.

When that dish came, it looked like a messy unstyled blob of mush. Not the most attractive thing you’ve ever seen. But when I shoved a little bit of it into my mouth, I was pleasantly surprised! It was so good! Soft and moist, hearty and delicious.

So I decided to try recreating the dish a home last night. And though it wasn’t a perfect replica, it was pretty good I’ll say. My husband and I wiped the dish clean 🙂

So here it is, my version of Chinese Egg and Tomato.

Ingredients (serves 4):
Vegetable oil
1/2 tbsp garlic (can use as much as you like)
4 eggs, stirred through with a fork
1 medium-large tomato, chopped
2 tbsp ketchup
3 drops olive oil
Salt, pepper and light soy sauce to taste

Directions:
1. Heat some oil in a pan. Fry garlic till slightly browned.

2. Pour eggs onto the pan. Fry till just barely solid. Set aside. When you take them out the eggs should still look mushy, like so:

3. Add tomatoes to pan, fry till they look soft and pulpy. About 2 minutes.

4. Reutrn eggs to pan. Add all the seasoning (really up to you what portions you want to use). Fry briefly and serve.

* I love that I can write my posts while on-the-go. Yay iPhone 🙂 *

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Yoong permalink
    January 19, 2010 2:39 am

    Hey Clare, this is actually a dish my Mum has prepared at home for us for as long as I can remember. Besides the tomatoes, she adds white onions and chinese sausage to the eggs as well. Goes well with porridge. Yum!

  2. January 19, 2010 7:53 am

    I love this dish. My favourite comfort food. So easy to make.

  3. January 19, 2010 7:46 pm

    I say! That looks fantastic! I had a similar dish (with fish slices) during my hol in KL, and yours really looks very similar. If I want to replicate it, I will turn to your recipe. The eggs are perfectly done. 🙂

  4. Cons permalink
    January 19, 2010 9:06 pm

    wow don’t forget the spring onions! ai yo, i feel like eating that now!

  5. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    January 24, 2010 4:11 pm

    Yoong & Cons: Thanks girls! Looks like I have a few things to add to the dish next time I make it…
    Ellie & Ju: Yeah it doesn’t take any time at all =) I’m sure it’s perfect when you ladies make it!

Leave a Reply

