Skip to content

Classic Barbecued Pork Ribs

February 7, 2010

As some of you may recall, my husband made a trip to QB foods recently. That’s where he got the lovely shabu shabu beef that I used to make Harumi’s Beef and Vegetable Rolls. Well, he didn’t just get shabu shabu beef at QB… He pretty much got us a whole freezer full of meat. Steak, minced beef, shabu shabu beef, shabu shabu pork, pork ribs, fish etc. etc.

So I thought I should use the nice rack of pork ribs that he got. I remembered seeing a recipe for barbecued pork ribs in one of my Donna Hay magazines (which I think my friend Lazy Susan might also have used some time ago), so I went and fished it out, and it looked perfect. Easy to do, and would allow me to use:
a) Mustard powder, which I bought in December to make Nigella’s Coca Cola Ham, as well as
b) Worcestershire sauce, which I always have in my refrigerator because I use it to make Nigella’s One Page Sage & Onion Chicken & Sausage, which my husband loves.

I have to say the ribs we used weren’t the meatiest, and there were limits to how effectively I could barbecue using an induction stove. But the marinade was great! And definitely worth a repeat. So here’s the recipe verbatim,  because it really is quite straightforward.

Classic Barbecued Pork Ribs

(Donna Hay)

Ingredients (serves 4-6):
1kg rack American-style baby back pork ribs
1/4 cup tomato sauce (ketchup)
2 tbsp tomato paste
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup cider vinegar
1 tbsp olive oil
2 cloves garlic, crushed
2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
2 tsp mustard powder

Directions:
1. Place ribs in a large saucepan of cold water and bring to the boil. Reduce the heat to low, cover, and cook for 30 minutes. Drain and place in a dish.

2. Combine the tomato sauce, tomato paste, sugar, vinegar, oil, garlic, Worcestershire sauce and mustard, pour over the ribs and toss to coat. Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes to marinate.

3. Heat a barbecue or large char-grill pan over high heat. Cook the ribs for 6-8 minutes on each side, brushing with the marinade every 2 minutes or until golden and sticky. Cut into pieces and serve.

*This is actually a pre-scheduled post. I am in Donna Hay’s home country as we speak, so after one more pre-scheduled post, mrsmultitasker.com will be quiet for couple of days. Gong xi fa cai, dear readers!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. trissalicious permalink
    February 7, 2010 7:18 pm

    You’re in Australia? Sydney? It would have been lovely to meet up with you! Enjoy your trip!

  2. February 7, 2010 11:32 pm

    Oh Clare, they look super yummy! Enjoy your trip Down Under! Say hi to the bloggers for me, if you’re meeting them. Gong Xi Fa Cai to you and your family! 🙂

  3. February 12, 2010 4:57 pm

    I’m ready to attack with my fingers!

  4. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    February 14, 2010 7:26 pm

    Trissa: Would love to have met you! But we did a road trip from Melbourne to Adelaide. Will definitely let you know if I’m ever in Sydney on holiday…

    Ju: Thanks girlie =) Would love to have met the bloggers but most of them are in Sydney and we didn’t pass through there… I almost met with the lovely “Rilsta” of myfoodtrail.blogspot.com but in the end our schedules just didn’t align so well. So sad! I hope to make it back to Melbourne though. It really is a beautiful place.

    tigerfish: =) =)

  5. Rich permalink
    March 27, 2010 5:40 am

    Please don’t boil those juice ribs, that just sucks the all the flavor out!! Slow cooking….200 degrees (f) or less if possible …..SLOW….. Save the boiling water for chicken and make soup! the sauce looks great though!!

  6. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    March 30, 2010 5:41 pm

    Rich, go tell that to Donna Hay! =)

Leave a Reply

