Skip to content

Wonders of Oz

February 18, 2010

Hello dear readers! 新年快乐 once again. It’s been a long time since my last post (at least, it feels long to me! haha), and I must confess that I had to overcome a great deal of inertia before I got going on this post…

But enough of my whining! As most of you know by now, my husband and I just came back from an Australia road trip. We took the Great Ocean Road and drove from Melbourne to Port Campbell to Mount Gambier to Adelaide. It was a little tiring, but without a doubt the best vacation we’ve had since our honeymoon. We enjoyed it so much I thought I may as well do a little highlights post, just in case you are thinking of attempting the same journey in the not too distant future.

Melbourne to Adelaide (Highlights)

Sightseeing

1. Twelve Apostles (Port Campbell National Park)

There are only seven left now, and no one really knows why it was called the Twelve Apostles in the first place. Still, it is breathtaking, particularly if you make it there at sun-down like we did.

2. Flagstaff Hill Maritime Museum & Village (Warrnambool)

Because it’s good to remember, once every now and again, that things haven’t always been automated. Also it’s a very pleasant and amusing way to while away an hour.

3. Blue Lake (Mount Gambier)

As you can see, words are not necessary…

But be sure to visit between November & March. (Apparently it’s grey the rest of the year!) And when you’re done you can stop by Umpherston Sinkhole, another fascinating natural wonder.

4. Haigh’s Chocolates Visitors Centre (Adelaide)

The smell of chocolate everywhere, lots of free chocolate, and a peek into the making of. What’s not to like?

5. National Wine Centre (Adelaide)

This was fantastic for someone like me who was absolutely alcohol-illiterate. And their cafe serves up very respectable culinary fare. I love this brilliant ariel shot my husband took of the wine cellar so much that I’m going to post it again!

Shopping

6. Darriwill Farm (Warrnambool)

We had very little opportunity to shop on this trip, but I wanted to make mention of this darling little store in Warrnambool. It is 500 sq ft of all my favorite things – ccokware, bakeware, serveware; spices, preserves and other condiments; and it also has a healthy selection of wines from the region. Here’s me exercising my tourist dollar:

Eating

We also didn’t get to visit most of the restaurants that were recommended to us, but the two we did make it to were simply divine.

7. Vue de Monde (Melbourne)

Vue de Monde is an experience. When you get there, you aren’t given a menu. You are simply asked for your dietary restrictions and your preferred number of courses, and the food begins to appear. This was our first meal in Australia, and it was a delight. It reminded us of some very excellent meals we had in Paris two years ago, which we’ve never been able to find close substitutes for in Singapore. I also had there the best chocolate soufflé I’ve ever had in my life! Oh what I would give for the recipe…

8. Penfolds Magill Estate (Magill, near Adelaide)

Our very last meal in OZ was also our best. The restaurant on Penfolds Magill Estate overlooks their beautiful vineyard and is splendid yet relaxed. Our waiter Aaron gave us impeccable service, and the food, like at Vue de Monde, was artistic, surprising, gorgeous, and completely delicious. The chef dreamt up dishes like rabbit with pumpkin, lemon, bacon, dates and coffee jelly – not a set of ingredients you would ordinarily think to serve together, but somehow it all worked beautifully. (My apologies to all bunny fans for using this example!)

It really was a marvellous vacation. Two enthusiastic thumbs up!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Angie permalink
    February 18, 2010 11:21 am

    Lovely pictures!

  2. February 18, 2010 10:26 pm

    Good to know you had a wonderful trip! The photos are awesome, especially the Blue Lake. It looks so … blue. LOL! What I mean is, you captured the colours so well. 🙂 I would love to go on a holiday like that too! Eat, relax, take photos, wah. Best! 😉

  3. February 19, 2010 1:03 pm

    This is so relaxed after looking at the lovely pictures 🙂

  4. February 19, 2010 1:38 pm

    what a lovely trip and vacation..it must have been so relaxing and of course that little store is a treasure…all my favourite things there it seems…beautiful pictures!!

  5. February 19, 2010 3:58 pm

    How fortunate! We visited Twelve Apostles twice and they were both gloomy days 😦 I missed those good old days in Aussie 🙂

  6. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    February 20, 2010 9:14 am

    Thanks ladies! blessedhomemaker: didn’t know you lived in OZ!

  7. February 20, 2010 1:53 pm

    I didn’t stay in Aussie but my husband did, so that explains why I’ve visited (and travelled within) Aussie so many times within 2 years 🙂

  8. February 21, 2010 12:30 pm

    The picture of blue lake is simply lovely

  9. February 21, 2010 3:03 pm

    Gorgeous photos! I always love a driving trip though I admit it’s tiring at times. How long did you take to drive from Melbourne to Adelaide? Reminds me of my road trip in Tasmania though it is just Tasmania we covered in one round. 🙂

  10. trissalicious permalink
    February 23, 2010 5:58 pm

    The Vue de Monde pictures look beautiful! I would love to eat there one day!

  11. March 22, 2010 2:04 pm

    Lovely pictures and glad to hear you & hubby had a great trip! Vue de Monde and Magill Estate are known for their artistic creations! Expensive, but worth trying out!

    Such a pity we didn’t get to meet up but I’m sure we’ll meet some day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

