Skip to content

Apple and Cinnamon Cupcakes

April 6, 2010

When our relatives from Australia came and stayed with us week before last, they were sweet enough to bring along a bevy of gifts, including the delightful cupcake book below.

It’s apparently collectors edition, and I know for sure that it isn’t available on Amazon.com anymore, so I feel quite the privileged little kitchen mouse! =) It makes a great addition to my little growing collection of cookbooks devoted to cupcakes and muffins…

Since I received this book, I’ve been itching to make me some cupcakes. But due to my own procrastination and lack of planning, I missed the Easter baking boat last week. And my new job doesn’t give me a whole lot of people to bake for at random. (To those of you who know the size of my current office: STOP SNIGGERING!) So this evening, while waiting for my poor overworked husband to come home, I decided, “Ah what the hey – I’ll bake for myself”.

Did I mention that I’m on a diet?

Anyways I picked this Apple Cinnamon Cupcake recipe because (a) I love anything involving apples, (b) I had an extra apple leftover in the fridge from when I made Ellie’s Dutch Potato and Apple Mash, and (c) I thought these cupcakes would look pretty in my lovely new cupcake baking cups that I bought from Australia in February:

(If you spotted the two holders that were stuck together, you’ve got a good eye =)

So I got to work, and it really didn’t take too long to make. Then came the first proof of the pudding: I snuck a taste of the batter before I put it in the oven. To be honest, I wasn’t too encouraged – the flavour was rather blah. Thankfully when the final proofing came, the cupcakes aced the test! The cake texture was very fluffy and light (thanks to the shocking amount of butter in this recipe), the taste was mild but pleasant, and it was thrilling each time I got a bite of the little apple bits inside. The icing also added just the right amount of extra sweetness, I thought.

This recipe’s very easy to follow, so if you’re a baking novice, this isn’t a bad place to start. I reproduce it here, with some added notes to make your life easier.

Apple and Cinnamon Cupcakes

(Adapted from Cupcakes and Muffins (Collectors Edition))

Ingredients:

Cupcake

1/2 apple (I used 3/4 of a large apple because I like more fruit in my cupcake)
Juice of 1 lemon
1 tbsp cinnamon
3 eggs
1 cup butter, softened (= 226.8g butter, but this is a nutty amount of butter, so you can probably reduce it to 200g if you like)
1 cup caster sugar
1/2 cup milk
1-1/2 cups self-raising flour, sifted

Icing

1-1/2 cups icing sugar
1/2 cup butter softened (=113.4g butter)
1 tbsp cinnamon sugar (you can buy this on the dried herb + spice rack of any supermarket)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 160 degC. Line 12-cupcake pan with cupcake papers, or prepare 12 cupcake baking cups and place on baking tray.

2. Peel and chop apple into small pieces. Coat with lemon juice, pour away the excess juice, and sprinkle cinnamon over the apple pieces.

3. In mixing bowl, lightly beat the eggs. Add butter and sugar, then mix until light and fluffy. (The mixture should look something like scrambled eggs.)

4. Add milk and flour, and stir to combine. Beat with electric mixer for 2 minutes until light and creamy. (Now the mixture should look like gruel.)

5. Add spiced apple and stir through mixture.

6. Divide mixture evenly between the cupcake papers. Bake for 18-20 minutes until risen and firm to touch. Allow to cool for a few minutes then transfer to wire rack. Cool completely before icing.
(NOTE: If you use extra apple like I did, your mixture will be much wetter, and will need to bake longer. I baked my cupcakes for 24 minutes.)

7. (Icing) Combine half the icing sugar and butter and mix with a wooden spoon. Add remaining icing sugar and butter and beat with the spoon until light and fluffy. Spoon icing onto cupcakes and sprinkle cinnamon sugar on top.

Here are some pictures of steps 2, 3, 4 and 5:


Next, the cupcakes right out of the oven:

Finally, iced and spiced!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 8:55 am

    No baking recipe seems easy to follow for a baking idiot like me but the book is so pretty that I would love to just use it as a coffee table exhibition…lol….

  2. Pauline permalink
    April 7, 2010 2:25 pm

    They look great, Clare! Well done! Glad they turned out ok!

    Was great to hang out while we were in Singapore, thank you so much for everything you did for us!

    Love Pauline

  3. April 7, 2010 4:12 pm

    Your first pic looks like a flower and I like your cups 🙂

  4. Lazy Susan permalink
    April 7, 2010 10:02 pm

    love the cups! and they look delicious too!

  5. April 8, 2010 3:14 pm

    hi clarissa, jus got a chance to read ur blog, finally! =) so yummy!! =) do chk out my blog too =P luf luf, Ruth (Wan) or Ruth Lau, as u know me =)

  6. April 8, 2010 9:49 pm

    I’m a baking idiot, and I feel so lazy to bake now a days. Hehe…
    Your cup cakes looks yummy!

  7. April 8, 2010 11:34 pm

    Since I started to cook and bake for my family, my collection of cookbooks has increased tremendously. But sad to say, most of them are just for display. Your blue baking cups are SO SO beautiful until I can’t keep my eyes off them! Your cupcakes look gourgeous! I must try it out soon. 😉

  8. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    April 18, 2010 11:19 pm

    Thanks everybody!
    tigerfish and little inbox: I’m sure your baking is great and probably loads better than mine! too humble!
    Pauline: was lovely having you over =) thank you for the gorgeous book.
    blessedhomemaker, Lazy Susan and food-4tots: Aren’t the cups great =) Lazy Susan the polka dots made me think of you!
    Ruth: thanks for stopping! your blog is sweet =) I’m bookmarking it!

  9. April 19, 2010 1:28 pm

    Such pretty cupcakes!!! Very nicely done, Clare. The baby blue colour of the cups makes it even more darling.

Leave a Reply

