Skip to content

The O.C.

April 17, 2010

A few weeks ago I got an email asking if I’d like to attend a catering food sampling event for Bloggers organised by Orange Clove Catering. Orange Clove Catering is the newest offshoot of the Neo Group of Caterers, who have actually been in operation for 18 years. I’d never been to a blogger function before, so I thought it’d be fun to go check it out.

The event took place last night at the Singapore Botanic Gardens. (Fortunately for Orange Clove the ferocious thunderstorm that had been raging in the late afternoon had stopped by then.) When I got there I was surprised to see a good many people milling about with tiny plates of food in their hands. I think there were about 25 bloggers there, most of whom had brought along a friend or loved one. I didn’t speak to a whole lot of people because I was too busy taking pictures, but I did get to  briefly meet a handful of lovely blogger folk including Yan Ee from Sweeter Side of Life, Phoebe and Leroy from The Food Chapter, and the bio science major from The Hungry Cow (I can’t remember his name!).

Orange Clove prepared quite a spread for us – there were salads and canapes, a sushi platter, a honey chicken dish, a fish dish, some pasta, and four kinds of dessert. I thought it was a nice touch that they printed the menu in the little cards that were handed to us at the reception.

Sadly I didn’t manage to get a look at the full display of food in all its pre-consumed glory because I was twenty minutes late, but I took a bunch of pictures of whatever I could.

I thought the savoury food was passable, but not outstanding. The honey chicken had a nice light sweetness to it, but the fish was a little dry and could afford to have been seasoned more. The sausages were so-so, as were the canapes which were nicely presented but could have been improved on. (For starters, using better quality bread and toasting the bread would have helped.)

Here are shots of some of the canapes, one type of sausage and the honey chicken dish.


The desserts, on the other hand, were delicious. Their signature cupcakes, prettily adorned with the Orange Clove logo at top, were fairly old school in flavour (the sort that the generation above me would like, I think). Still, they were moist, not too sweet, and had a nice citrus edge to them. The lemon meringue tarts were very light and just the right degree of lemony-ness (someone please buy me a food adjective dictionary). I like that there was a tiny bit of lemon peel on the tarts and some lemon zest in the meringue too. And my favouritest part of the meal was the cheesecake. Oh, the cheesecake… it was just so gooood. Very smooth, creamy and light; and I took one with a charming berry swirl on the top so I got a tiny and welcome hint of berry flavour in my cheesecake as well.

Here are shots of the cupcakes, the cheesecakes and the meringue tarts.


Oh, desserts…

And here’s a group shot of the bloggers in attendance (I sneekily crept to the back of the room so’s I could escape the picture). See how young and vibrant most of them are! I felt absolutely decrepit… I could’ve sworn I heard my elbow creaking while I attached the flash to my camera.

Still, it was all in all a pleasant evening, and the time went by in a jiffy. So would I use Orange Clove for my future catering needs? I think it would depend – the price would have to be right, and I would surely scrutinise the menu to make sure each item appealed to me. But they definitely have good dessert =)

I’m going to close this post with a picture of a little shiny something that caught my attention just before the event ended. I was aiming my camera downward to capture some food I had on the table, when suddenly I spied out of the corner of my little eye, a pair of Adidas Angel Wings! I can see your halo, halo…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 12:14 pm

    I believe it was a great gathering. 😛

  2. April 19, 2010 12:00 am

    Wow! The food sampling cum blogger’s night event sounds interesting and fun! 😉

  3. April 19, 2010 4:47 am

    I have never been to a bloggers event. I am sure this was a fun event.

  4. April 19, 2010 1:08 pm

    Hey you’ve got really nice pictures 🙂 Yeah i remember that pair of adidas shoe 😀

  5. April 19, 2010 1:16 pm

    Glad you had a good time. How come all the bloggers looked so young one?!

  6. trissalicious permalink
    April 20, 2010 6:00 am

    I love blogger gatherings – such a great way to meet them all and no one cares if you take photos!

  7. April 20, 2010 1:43 pm

    This looks phenomenal!

  8. April 21, 2010 10:27 pm

    it’s ray btw! hehe. 🙂 nice meeting you too!! didn’t manage to catch that pair of shoes…i wonder if they belong to the “loud” company we had. -chuckles-

  9. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    May 9, 2010 6:37 pm

    Yan Ee: Thanks!
    Ju: YAH!!! As I said, felt completely decrepit.
    phoebe: *oops* Apologies to Ray!

Leave a Reply

