Skip to content

Ultimate Chicken Noodle Soup

June 7, 2010

Several weeks back, I was combing through a stack of articles that I had ripped out of magazines when I came across this recipe. I thought it sounded good and hearty, so I set it aside.

I got round to using the recipe this past Tuesday night. I had just come from four days of manning a booth at a big conference, and maintaining an utterly horrifying diet through that time which had consisted mainly of curry puffs, fried fishballs and mint candy (carbohydrates, proteins and vitamins?). So I thought it was about time for something completely wholesome and nourishing.

I didn’t expect much from this recipe since all it looked like to me was:
(a) Boil a bunch of veggies and chicken for hours and hours
(b) Cook more veggies and chicken and some pasta in the stock from the first round of boiling veggies and chicken. Voila – chicken noodle soup.

And that was pretty much what it was. But I have now concretely learnt my lesson to never turn my nose up at seemingly simple recipes. This gorgeous chicken soup was simply out of this world. I omitted the bay leaf and parsnips from the original recipe, chose to forego adding any salt or pepper, and put the dill on only at the end as garnish, but mamma mia…. the soup was still lip-smackingly thigh-whackingly delicious.

The dish takes hours to make, but only because you have to leave it simmering on the stove for quite some time. You can go out shopping during that time – no problem. Minimal monitoring required. =)

If you are feeding a family of five or six, this dish is perfection – healthy, nutritious, delicious and good for all ages. Without much further ado, here is the recipe with some minor tweaks. (Until I wrote this post I actually couldn’t remember which magazine it had come from. After a quick round of googling I found out that it was actually a recipe from O Magazine.)

Ultimate Chicken Noodle Soup

(adapted from O Magazine)

Ingredients (serves 6):

Stock

  • 1 whole chicken
  • 3 carrots, peeled and chopped into big chunks
  • 1 onion, peeled and halved
  • 2 leeks, chopped into big chunks
  • 4 stalks celery, chopped into big chunks
  • A few sprigs of Italian parsley
  • 1 lemon, halved

Soup:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped into small bits
  • 2 carrots, peeled and cut into 1/4-inch coins
  • 2 stalks celery, cut into 1/4-inch slices
  • 400g Fusilli (any short pasta will do, really)
  • Handful of dill

Directions:

Stock

1. Prepare all your veggie for the stock. Try to halve the chicken if you can, but if you have trouble like I did, just make a deep cut down through the top of the chicken.

2. In a large pot, combine all the ingredients and add just enough water to cover the meat and vegetables by about an inch or so. Bring to a boil; reduce heat to the barest simmer and cook 4 hours. After the first hour, remove the lemon pieces (this is important, or the lemon becomes too overpowering). Occasionally skim the scum off the surface of the stock in the last two hours of cooking.

3. Strain stock into a large bowl and discard all solids except for the chicken. Set the chicken aside.

Soup

4. In a large pot, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add onions, carrots and celery. Cook about 10 minutes. Add 6 cups of stock. Cook 25 minutes, or until vegetables are tender.

5. Meanwhile, shred chicken meat and discard the skin and bones. Add chicken meat to stock along with pasta and cook until pasta is al dente (check package instructions). Garnish with dill and serve hot. (You can leave a little dish out with more dill for those who want it. It really adds to the flavour!)

Steps 2, 3, 4 and 5:


*You can freeze the remaining stock in airtight containers for up to 3 months.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Cons permalink
    June 7, 2010 1:16 pm

    oh yes, I love making chicken noodles soup for a simple meal. I added thymes and bay leaves instead. Maybe the next time I try using fresh dill. 🙂

  2. June 8, 2010 11:50 am

    I always cook this. Yes…be amazed by the simplicity of chicken noodle soup. Plus, it is nutritious 😀

  3. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    June 9, 2010 10:52 pm

    Cons: Oh yes try the dill! It’s magic. My husband and I kept adding extra dill throughout the meal.. haha.

  4. June 9, 2010 11:50 pm

    the chkn noodle soup looks good and nutritious. I bet it was very tasty as well…with all the stock trapped n there. simple is always best. thnks for dropping by. u have a lovey blog with interesting pics and write ups. I went thru a few pages and saw the nigella choc cake. Ill take ur word n will try it soon.:)

  5. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    June 10, 2010 6:17 pm

    Aww thanks zurin how sweet of you to say =) And what a compliment for me, coming from a seasoned food blogger like yourself!

  6. June 11, 2010 1:34 am

    I love chicken noodles and yours look absolutely appetising! Check out those veggies, all my favourite!

  7. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    June 11, 2010 4:56 pm

    Thanks blessedhomemaker!

  8. June 28, 2010 1:46 am

    I love meals that can be cooked in one pot. Thanks for the inspiration 😛 Living alone = meals settled by dumping all the ingredients into a soup base! Haha!! Its so convenient and means only one pot to wash. Heh!

  9. July 1, 2010 11:02 pm

    Doreen: So true! Such a bother doing multiple dishes when cooking for one…

Leave a Reply

