Skip to content

Sweet Spring

June 10, 2010

Special update: Sweet deal from Sweet Spring for Mrs Multitasker readers!

Click here to print your discount voucher today. Hurry – offer runs till 30 Jun 2010!

I know it’s summertime (not that the seasons make much sense in Singapore), but I definitely felt a little touch of spring this afternoon when I visited Sweet Spring at AMK Hub (aka 糖水春).

I received an email from them a week ago asking if I would like to go by their outlet at AMK Hub for a food tasting session. In the email they described themselves as a dessert cum dim sum café. Dessert cum dim sum! How to say no?

(In case you don’t make it to the end of this long post, I just want to state for the record that you should go to Sweet Spring sometime and order their Durian Pastry, Homemade Beancurd and Mango Snow Ice. You will not regret it.)

I got there early so I would have a bit of time to catch my breath before the session, and to survey the landscape since I had never been to AMK Hub. What impressed me was how packed the mall felt, and how many dessert places there seemed to be. But Sweet Spring, tucked away gracefully at one end of level 2, certainly stood out with it’s traditional Chinese tea house decor and charming signboards (I ♥ cute signboards).

While I was waiting for my hosts, I noticed that one of the specials they were serving was Chilled Pork Jelly. My heart fluttered with excitement as I remembered the delicious Chilled Pork Jelly my dear old Ah Kong used to make for us when we went over to his home for dinner. I thought Ah Kong had taken the recipe with him when he passed away, but I found out recently that an aunty of mine has been attempting to re-create it, so… fingers crossed!

Anyway, back to the story. I was joined by a young reporter from U Weekly, and then by our lovely hosts Sharon and Jayss. They handed me a copy of the menu for the day, and I must admit I was just a tiny bit disappointed that Chilled Pork Jelly wasn’t on the list. But when our hosts heard my story about my Ah Kong, they graciously asked the kitchen to serve up one dish of jelly just for me. Thank you Sharon and Jayss! And so begins here my food review…

Chilled Pork Jelly $5

This was so very delicious. The stock used to make the jelly was bursting with meaty goodness, and there was heaps of meat in the jelly. It was a little crunchier than my Ah Kong used to make it, but it was GOOD. The Teochew in me was happy indeed.

(For those of you who read Julie & Julia, this jelly should bring back some hilarious memories of her tortured experiences with aspic.)

Pan Fried Radish Cake $4.20

After the jelly came the tasting menu proper. First up was Pan Fried Radish Cake. They fried it Teochew style, so the outer layer had just a touch of nice fried smokiness without actually being fried to a crisp. Not too different than what you would get at any decent Chinese restaurant.

Steamed Glutinous Rice Wrapped in Lotus Leaf $4.50

Next up was the Steamed Glutinous Rice (I was so consumed with consuming, I forgot to take a picture of it unwrapped! Oh well…). What impressed me about this dish, and really about many of the dishes we tried, was how generous they were with their ingredients (what we call 料 in Mandarin). Every bite I took of the rice had either a good-sized chunk of meat, Chinese mushroom, or salted egg in it. Moist and delicious.

Durian Pastry $4.20

Then came the Durian Pastry. Doesn’t it look all shy and unassuming? But do not be fooled – under that gentle flaky crust (which was completely delicious by the way) was a rick gorgeous chunk of D24 durian meat. That was another thing that impressed me about this place – they really used the good stuff. And look at those amazing price tags! Even if I had been a paying customer, I certainly would not have complained.

Crispy Chicken Bites $3.90

The next dish was definitely a winner with the young male reporter from U Weekly. The chefs managed to season both the meat and the batter so well that this was a surprisingly tasty dish. And because they used only thigh meat the chicken bites were moist and tender.

Steamed Spicy Wantons $3.90

Then came the Spicy Wantons, which were just a tad too spicy for my liking (I’m not the biggest fan of spicy food because I like tasting my meat)… but I had nothing to fear because the next dish was going to completely neutralise all that spice.

Oh what could it be…

Homemade Soya Beancurd $4.50 (serving for 2 pax)

Yes it was their best selling Homemade Soya Beancurd. Their beautiful beancurd is made fresh every morning, in individual wooden baskets so that when it arrives at your table it is perfectly smooth and undisturbed. Served with the beancurd is a little jug of honey that has been boiled with pandan leaves, for as much natural sweetness as you like. This might be the best beancurd I have ever had in Singapore. I would go back there just for this. And $4.50 for a 2-person serving!

Come to me…

Yam Paste with Gingko Nut & Pumpkin $4.90

We’re not done yet! Next on the list was Yam Paste (more lovingly known was Or Nee in Singapore), which was very very creamy and rich. I loved that there were little chunks of crunch water chestnut littered throughout the paste,  and that it was garnished the right way – with gingko nuts and pumpkin. (As you know I just love cooking with fresh pumpkin… pumpkin pumpkin pumpkin…)

The next two dishes (yes, dishes 9 and 10… *burp*) were Steamed Milk Egg White and Egg Drop Water Chestnut. There are too many pictures in this post so I’m leaving out the ones I took of these two. Apparently both are very good for your complexion, so it’s too bad I was much too full by this point to have much of either one. I found the Steamed Milk a wee bit too rich, especially at the end of a hefty meal, but the Egg Drop Water Chestnut was very refreshing.

Finally, the tour de force…

Mango Snow Ice $5.50

I am not the world’s biggest fan of mango desserts generally, mostly because they often contain either sour mango or no real mango at all. But this Mango Snow Ice was different. Scattered all over the ice were big sweet luscious chunks of mango , whose sweetness was ensured by the chefs who taste the mangoes every morning and throw out all those that aren’t sweet. Again, I really appreciate Sweet Spring’s attention to detail and commitment to quality. And unlike shaved ice, which tends to be rough and crunchy, the snow ice was soft and smooth and almost ice-cream like, just not as heavy.

What a fun way to spend an afternoon off work =) I’m so glad I accepted the invitation, and was thoroughly surprised that a café opened by the owners of Fish & Co (yes you heard me right!) could serve up such authentic excellent Chinese fare. MAJOR THUMBS UP! I hope they open a branch near my home. (Friends living in Serangoon, two branches will be opening there soon!)

*Oh and before I forget… our hosts let me wash down the meal with the big glass of soya bean milk you see at the top of the post. Like its predecessors, it was fresh and delicious…

Sweet Spring @ AMK Hub

53 Ang Mo Kio Ave #02-19

Singapore 569933

(65) 6753 9856

13 Comments leave one →
  1. cons permalink
    June 10, 2010 10:39 pm

    Hey, I did not know that you like Jellied Pork!!! Go try the stall at Jalan Besar Food Centre. They serve jellied pork and shark meat. My husband loved it and they have been around since I was a kid!

  2. June 10, 2010 11:37 pm

    Great food review! All the desserts are just perfect for teatime snack for me. Drooling and craving for them now. Unfortunately there isn’t any branch near my place. *Sigh!*

  3. B's Mommy permalink
    June 11, 2010 2:16 am

    “Or Nee”! I’m craving it NOW =)

  4. Jin permalink
    June 11, 2010 10:01 am

    Hello, nice to meet you yesterday! Will drop by here more often for my food inspirations.:)

  5. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    June 11, 2010 4:54 pm

    Hi Jin! It was good meeting you as well. All the best with your journalistic aspirations!

  6. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    June 11, 2010 4:56 pm

    Oops why didn’t my earlier comment get published…

    cons: Ok noted!
    food-4tots: Thanks so much! There isn’t one near my place either.. sigh..
    B’s Mommy: I can take you there when you’re back!

  7. June 11, 2010 5:29 pm

    The Pork Jelly seems to be over-stuffed with pork and less jelly? I am too hungry now looking at these dishes! Damn, not near my place too!

  8. June 11, 2010 6:07 pm

    I like that durian pastry, look so tempting!!

  9. June 11, 2010 10:47 pm

    really nice photos. You’re totally making me drool man …. hehe ^_^

  10. June 12, 2010 12:31 am

    Yummy photos! Cant wait to try the Crispy Chicken Bites and Homemade Soya Beancurb. Ya and the Mango Snow Ice too!

  11. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    June 12, 2010 9:40 am

    tigerfish & Sonia: You should go try!
    noobcook: Thanks =)
    Wen’s Delight: Thanks, let me know what you think if you do go…

  12. June 12, 2010 10:22 am

    Hi Clare,
    Thanks so much for pointing me to your post on the discount coupon. It sure looks tempting enough for me to really want to try it out. I just love tim sums! The “Steamed Spicy Wantons” made me salivate…Hahaha… I’m sure you had a good time feasting! Thanks again Clare!

  13. June 21, 2010 3:31 pm

    Looks yummy! Will try it if I head to AMK cos I love a good beancurd and dan loves a good ‘or nee’! =D

Leave a Reply

