Skip to content

Malted Magic

June 21, 2010

I recently got an Amazon e-mailer alerting me to Amazon’s current best-selling cookbooks, and among them was Ree Drummond’s “The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl“.

For the less blog-obsessed, Ree is a world-renowned food blogger who gave up her corporate Californian existence to move to the middle of nowhere to begin a new and very domestic life with her cattle rancher husband (hence the “accidental”). She blogs about a whole host of activities ranging from cooking to photography to gardening (each category neatly ordered with separate tabs), but of course it is the food that draws me most.

After I got the Amazon email, I decided to revisit her blog (it’s been a while), and couldn’t help but notice this delightful recipe for Malted Milk Chocolate Chip Cookies. I love malt (Maltesers might be my favorite mass market chocolate candy of all time), I love chocolate, and I love cookies. Joy… I had been on the lookout for the perfect cookie to make for my nephew’s 2nd birthday party anyway, so this recipe appeared at a most opportune time.

The recipe asked for milk chocolate chips, but strangely both Cold Storage and NTUC didn’t have any so I used Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate chips instead. They were perfect. In fact this recipe was pretty much perfect (and it allowed me to use Ovaltine! Yay Ovaltine!). When I tried my first (and not nearly my last) cookie, I let out an emphatic “WOW”. The cookie (x4) was so good it got me talking enthusiastically to myself for a good minute or so…

Without further ado, here’s the fabulous recipe with a few minor tweaks and conversions. Also note that I’ve made adjustments such that the cookies are flattish but not completely flat the way Ree makes them, and they’re crunchy.

Malted Chocolate Chip Cookies

(adapted from The Pioneer Woman)

Ingredients:

  • 225g unsalted butter, softened (if you live in Singapore, leave the butter at room temperature for about 20 mins)
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup caster sugar
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 tsp vanilla essence
  • 2 cup plain flour
  • 1-1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1-1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup malted milk powder (in Singapore you can use Ovaltine or Horlicks)
  • 1 bag (12 oz) milk chocolate chips or semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Pre-heat oven to 210 degC. Line baking tray with parchment.

2. Using an electric mixer fitted with a flat beater attachment, cream the butter on medium-high speed for a few minutes, using a spatula to scrape down the insides of the bowl at least once in between. Then add both sugars and cream until fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla and beat until combined. Add malted milk powder and beat until combined.

3. Sift together flour, baking soda, and salt. Add to butter mixture, beating gently until just combined. By this time your batter should be a soft beige colour.

4. Add chocolate chips and stir in gently.

5. Drop batter by teaspoonfuls (or use a melon/truffle scoop if you have one – much easier) onto tray. Put tray into refrigerator for 4-5 minutes. (I did this so my cookies wouldn’t be paper-thin – I like them with just a little bit more thickness. Omit this step if you want yours really thin.)

6. Remove tray from refrigerator and put straight into the oven. Turn oven temperature down to 190 degC and bake for 11 minutes. (Bake for a shorter time if you prefer chewy cookies.)

*Pre-heating the oven to a higher temperature then turning it down right before baking is a trick I learnt at Eileen’s baking class.

Here are pictures of  the ingredients, steps 2, 3 and 5, and the finished product.

This definitely ranks right up there with my favorite Pierre Herme World Peace Dark Chocolate Cookie recipe. But what’s extra great about  this recipe, is that it should appeal to both milk chocolate and dark chocolate fans, and grown-ups and children alike.

Move over Famous Amos!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2010 4:14 pm

    I would love to be in a ranch but first, need to have $ to buy a huge piece of land! 😦
    What a great idea to use Ovaltine – would Milo work too?

  2. June 22, 2010 9:33 pm

    You use very good quality ingredients, my dear. 😉 Lucky people who get to eat these cookies. Unfortunately I am not one of them. 😦 They look REALLY crunchy – my kind of cookies – and perfectly golden. Well done! And what is it about malt that makes it so heavenly? I love anything malted. Especially malted milkshakes!

  3. June 22, 2010 11:09 pm

    Mmm…looks perfect! I want to bookmark this…can wait to try it!

  4. June 23, 2010 10:21 am

    tigerfish: Err maybe but that would give a pretty different taste (and colour!) I think =) A close substitute for Ovaltine would be Horlicks!
    Ju: Thanks chica. Nice to hear from you. Horribly spoilt by two baking classes at Shermay’s that’s why! I need to break the habit!
    ann: yes do try!

  5. June 23, 2010 8:12 pm

    The cookies look terrific! I think one would be living under the rocks by now if they don’t know who’s Ree Drummond. She makes awesome chocolate lava cake and Crashed Hot Potatoes by the way! I’ve tried them and they’re great. Who cares if they’re someone else’s recipe. They’re good, that’s all that matters for me!

  6. June 24, 2010 3:08 pm

    your cookies look yummy! and I love the making process photos, yes like Ju says, you use really good quality ingredients =)

  7. June 25, 2010 8:35 pm

    Thank you Quinn, noobcook!

  8. mrmultitasker permalink
    August 21, 2010 6:15 pm

    Mmm… cookie…

Leave a Reply

