Skip to content

Apple Blueberry Crumble

July 1, 2010

Blueberries are in season! Ooh yes! These little fellas used to cost $5 a punnet at the supermarket, but now they’re only half their usual price. (At least, they were last week… anybody know whether my information is outdated?)

For those who aren’t so excited about blueberries, let me give you a few reasons why you heart should be a-flutter at the thought of getting your hands on a basket of this pretty little fruit:

1. They are pretty (think blueberry cheesecake, blueberry pancakes, blueberry parfait etc. etc.).

2. They are little (i.e. no peeling or chopping required).

3. They are rich in antioxidants (diseases be gone!).

4. They are low in calories and fat-free.

I got so excited when I saw them on sale at the supermarket, I grabbed a bunch and figured I’d decide what to do with them later. Eventually I ended up using some of them to make an apple blueberry crumble, for a party we threw at our house for a dear cousin who was back from overseas. Very sadly, I made so many things that night that (a) I forgot the crumble was in the oven, and I left it in there for about 1 hour 35 mins instead of 35 mins (b) even though it was still quite edible and good despite the umm.. prolonged baking time, we were all so full at the end of dinner no one had room left for any crumble, especially not after the ice cream slice.

Still, this is a good recipe that’s easy to follow, and great for when you need to whip up something sweet in a jiffy. I’ve based the recipe on Jamie Oliver’s Apple Crumble, but for some odd reason I’ve had more than my fair share of accidents with this dessert (over-cooked, under-cooked), so I’ve made some minor modifications and added in a little more detail in the hopes that you have an easier time with it.

(My apologies for the tragic lack of presentable pictures – I had a terrible time trying to take photographs of all the things I made for that party whilst entertaining my guests! And oh yes, I burnt the crumble…)

Apple Blueberry Crumble

(adapted from Jamie Oliver’s Apple Crumble)

Ingredients (serves 8):

  • 700g granny smith apples (about 5-6 apples)
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 2-3 tbsp water
  • 1/2 punnet of blueberries (about 60-70g)
  • 70g rolled oats
  • 70g wholemeal flour
  • 70g unsalted butter
  • 40g caster sugar

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 190 degC.

2. Peel and core the apples, and cut them into chunks.

3. Put the apples into a large pan/pot. Pour the 100g of caster sugar then the water over the apples. Cook over  low-medium heat for about 7 minutes until apples have lost a little bit of their crunch. (Be sure to move the apples about now and then so that all the pieces are cooked.)

4. Place apples in an oven proof dish. Sprinkle blueberries over the apples.

5. Mix oats and flour in a bowl. Cut the butter into small cubes and add to the oats and flour. Mix with your fingertips or the back of a fork (it’s easier with fingertips) until it resembles an even crumb texture (see picture below). Add the 40g of caster sugar and mix through.

6. Cover the fruit with the crumble mixture. Bake for approximately 35-40 minutes until the crumble is golden and the apple is hot. (Jamie says to bake it for 20 minutes, but that leaves the apples just a tad too crunchy for a crumble filling, I feel.)

If per chance you overcook your crumble like I did, don’t toss it! You can still serve it up as a delicious side with good vanilla ice cream.

And before I sign off, here are some links to tempting blueberry-related recipes on blogs that I love:

The Little Teochew’s Atayef (Pancakes) With Blueberry Sauce And Cream Cheese

NoobCook’s Blueberry Smoothie and Blueberry Muffins

Anncoo’s Hobby’s Fruit Pastry Cake

And here are two links I found on a delightful blog that I just discovered:

Cooking With My Kid’s Blueberry Cobbler Bars and Blueberry Corn Muffins

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2010 11:13 am

    what a great use of blueberries. yes, the last time I saw (few days ago), they are still about S$2.50 at NTUC.

  2. July 3, 2010 2:51 pm

    blueberries are expensive here :(( just like other western fruits. But that blueberry rumble looks worth the expense 🙂

  3. July 3, 2010 2:52 pm

    ooops LOL I meant bluberry Crumble!

  4. July 4, 2010 5:34 pm

    Thanks noobcook!
    zurin: heehee I like the typo. hungry tummy sounds…

  5. July 5, 2010 7:30 pm

    Thanks for the link-up, Clare! I can’t cook under pressure, so I would probably have forgotten about the crumble till the next day. LOL.

  6. July 6, 2010 5:42 pm

    Haha Ju you’re funny! The funny thing is it was barely burnt after all that time. But the apple was close to baby food quality =)

Leave a Reply

