Skip to content

Banana Bread – Redux

July 10, 2010

Later today I’ll be attending the Singapore Blog Awards ceremony, where they will be announcing the winners for each of the ten award categories.

It’s strange to think that mrsmultitasker.com is in the running for any kind of award at all, and it reminds me what a big difference a year makes…

A year ago, when I was only four months into blogging:

  • I had just started using a DSLR to take my pictures, and was still utterly clueless about lighting, styling, depth of field and all that other good stuff. Now, my use of lighting, styling and depth of field are only slightly improved, but at least I know what they are!
  • I had learned to navigate my way around the kitchen a little better, but still cooking was an event rather than a way of life. Every dish required a recipe and days of mental preparation. These days I can actually peer into my refrigerator, see what leftover vegetables, meats and sauces lurk there, and think, “so what’s for dinner tonight?”
  • I had figured out how to use most of the buttons on my WordPress kitchen sink, but was still blissfully ignorant about how much more I could do by tweaking the html code. In fact it’s only in recent days that I realized I could do this. Yes this this and this!

And so it is fitting I think, that in commemoration of the year gone by, I rehash an old recipe from a year ago – my banana bread recipe.

Ooh banana bread…

The batch of banana bread you see in the pictures here was actually made several weeks ago, almost exactly one year from the time I had made the batch that you see in my previous blog post. And both times, I had decided to bake this bread because I had unwittingly let an innocent bunch of bananas give up the ghost in my refrigerator.

I am pleased to announce that one year down, the recipe is still very good indeed. There are only three things I would add:

–  Use bananas which are 80-90% black but not 100% black. When they’re 100% black they’re just a tad too mushy and they make the bread a little too moist. (So here’s the test – the bananas should still have a wee bit of firmness when you pick them up.)

– I tried subbing the ground hazelnut with ground almonds this time. Try not to if you can help it – it’s better with ground hazelnut.

– This bread is not for those who are looking for something light and fluffy – it is dense, rich and delicious. A wonderful cake to have over tea with friends.

I’m going to try something new with this post. I don’t know if I’ll be able to sustain it because it’s a fair bit of work with a wordpress.com blog, but I thought you might find it handy. Here it comes: click here for printable recipe.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2010 4:13 pm

    I love my banana bread dense. thats exactly how it is supposed to be. Aww! I’m hungry now! Yours look scrumptious!

    Drooooolinggg!

  2. July 14, 2010 12:42 am

    Clare, I too, just passed my 1 year anniversary in blogging… there is quite alot to ponder… to take stock – but I will wait till I come back from my travels. I think it is wonderful that you’ve been shortlisted for the blogger award. There is no need to wonder about how your blog got into the run – savour it, the experience is priceles!

  3. July 18, 2010 4:19 am

    Hello I really love how you captured the picture. Nice!!!

  4. July 21, 2010 12:49 am

    Thanks Kulsum and Doreen!
    Shirley – it’s quite nice that there’s a bunch of us who’ve been blogging for about the same length of time. I’ve learnt so much from the rest of you!

Leave a Reply

