Skip to content

Steak Fajitas

July 28, 2010

So here’s the chain of events that led to my making steak fajitas:

One day last week I was bored and moody. I took a little walk around Threesixty Marketplace at Ion Orchard. I noticed a rack carrying pretty little packs of flour wraps and decided I should buy one. A few days later I peered into my refrigerator and realised I had a pack of flour wraps. I decided I should probably use them. And thanks to this article on Straits Times Online I realised that the Chicken Fajitas recipe in my untouched copy of Jamie Oliver’s seminal Ministry of Food (the US version of the book is called Jamie’s Food Revolution) would be just the inspiration I needed. So armed with Jamie’s recipe as a base, today I made some

~ Fabulous Steak Fajitas ~

Though not the most artful of dishes, it was very satisfying to make nonetheless because I got to use so many gorgeous fresh vegetables: red peppers, yellow peppers, onion, chilis, limes, tomatoes, cilantro… Mmm… This really is the best thing about cooking your own meals – you have some quality control over what goes into the final product.

Random fact: Did you know that what is known as Cilantro in the US is better known as Coriander in the UK and Chinese Parsley in Asia?

My steak was a little overcooked, but my husband and I gobbled it all up and my husband’s only complaint was that there wasn’t enough of it. So I guess it didn’t turn out too badly =) What I did wrong, I think, was slice the steak before cooking it, and the recipe I have below is what I would do next time.

(Addendum on 1 Aug 10: I just made a second batch using my amended recipe below, and it’s so much better! The picture you see at the top is from my second batch made today. I switched out the old headline picture that I had used originally, which I paste below for your reference. See how much paler the steak is?)

So without further ado, here’s a yummy healthy dish that’s definitely worth a repeat.

Steak Fajitas

(inspired by Chicken Fajitas from Jamie Oliver’s Ministry of Food)

Please click here for printable recipe.

Ingredients (serves 2):

For Steak

  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1/2 a red pepper, seeds removed
  • 1/2 a yellow pepper, seeds removed
  • 200g flank steak (or any other kind of skirt steak that’s easily sliced for stir-frying)
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 tbsp worcestershire sauce
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • Salt and ground black pepper
  • 2 tbsp olive oil

For Salsa

  • 2 fistsful of cherry tomatoes
  • 1 red chili (less if you don’t handle spice so well)
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • Salt and ground black pepper
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 sprig of Chinese parsley

Putting It Together

  • 4 flour wraps
  • Guacamole (I couldn’t get any at the store and didn’t have any time to make some, so we did without)
  • Sour cream
  • Cheddar

Directions:

1. Pre-heat oven to 170 degC. Heat griddle pan on high heat.

2. Mix together paprika, cumin, worcestershire sauce, lime juice, salt, pepper and olive oil, and pour over steak to marinade for half an hour. Mix well. Cut onion and peppers into thin strips.

3. (Salsa) While meat is marinading, make the salsa. Chop chilis finely and roughly chop tomatoes. Put chilis and tomatoes into a bowl and add the juice of the other lime, salt and pepper, and extra virgin olive oil. Chop the Chinese parsley finely and stir into the mix. Set aside.

4. Remove steak from marinade, and cook in griddle pan for 2-3 minutes on each side. Remove steak from pan and set aside. Reduce heat to low-medium, put peppers and onion and residual marinade into the pan, and cook for 3-4 minutes till vegetables are slightly softened. Remove vegetables from pan. Slice steak against the grain and mix with cooked vegetables. Transfer to a serving dish.

5. Wrap up flour wraps (yes, wrap the wraps) in aluminum foil. Warm in oven for 8 minutes, then put on a serving dish still wrapped in foil so they stay warm. Serve the meat and wraps with sides of guacamole, sour cream and roughly chopped cheddar.

6. Tuck in and smile =)

Do the salsa…

The best thing since sliced bread?

I’m really glad I started using this cookbook. Besides being chockfull of delicious, doable, healthy recipes, it also contains many heartwarming testimonials of ordinary folk whose lives have been made better because of Jamie’s recipes. I end this post with a testimonial I like, from a lovely old retiree name Geoff Blackburn:

“My mother and my wife cooked for me all my life – I had never even picked up a pan before. But now I have no one to cook for me, and I couldn’t find anywhere to learn, until now. I was passed on a handful of (Jamie’s) recipes which I managed easily, and enjoyed. One day, I’d love to be able to make a roast for my entire family.”

Awww…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2010 6:20 am

    I love steak fajitas. Have you tried making your own flour tortillas? YUM! There’s nothing like it. Thanks for sharing this flavorful-looking recipe and photos.

  2. August 9, 2010 11:22 am

    Memoria: Thanks! No I haven’t! Do you have a good recipe for it?

  3. August 21, 2010 10:21 am

    Yum! So simply delicious and inviting! I’d love to feature your steak fajitas on my site with full links and credits back to you if you are keen! Please let me know!

  4. August 27, 2010 3:05 pm

    Cari: Yes absolutely! Thanks for the honours!

  5. Jason Ladesma permalink
    September 17, 2010 2:51 pm

    Great post!

  6. October 14, 2010 11:41 pm

    These steak fajitas look amazingly simple! 🙂

Leave a Reply

