Skip to content

Salmon Parcels with Sweet Chili Sauce

August 19, 2010

You will love this beautiful recipe from my talented friend Wey. It’s healthy, original and absolutely delightful to the taste buds.

The first two times I made this dish were quite some time ago, when I was just starting on my kitchen adventures. I remember that on both occasions, though the end product was more than edible, it was quite a harrowing experience. Lots of trouble finding filo pastry in the supermarket, lots of trouble handling the filo pastry once I bought it, trouble figuring out when the salmon was cooked enough but not overcooked. Oh the woes of novice cooking!

Thankfully, a lot of time and many kitchen tirades later, this recipe is now easy-breezy. When I tried it this week (with a few minor modifications) I was surprised how simple it seemed, and realized that I had come some ways since I made it last.

This recipe really is gorgeous, and wonderful for dinner parties. As Wey says, you can make all your parcels ahead of time and refrigerate them. Then when your guests arrive, just pop them into the oven and you’re all set.

So here you go, my adaptation of Wey’s glorious recipe for Salmon Parcels with Sweet Chili Sauce.

Salmon Parcels with Sweet Chili Sauce
(adapted from Only Slightly Pretentious Food)

Please click here for printable recipe.

Ingredients (serves 2 if this is all you’re eating, otherwise 4 if this is part of a full meal):

  • 2 salmon fillets, cleaned, descaled and preferably boneless (If you’re serving this to a party of 4, cut each fillet in half.)
  • One big-thumb-sized piece of ginger, grated or thinly sliced with a peeler
  • 1 tbsp chopped garlic
  • 1 big lime or 2 smaller limes
  • 1 sprig of parsley (Wey used Chinese parsley but I prefer the milder taste of English parsley for this dish. If you are a lover of Chinese parsley go ahead and use that.)
  • 1 stalk of spring onion
  • 2 heaping tbsp of raisins or cranberries (I love golden raisins so I used those.)
  • 2 sheets of filo pastry (4 sheets if you’re serving 4 persons)
  • Thai Sweet Chili Sauce (I’ve used Tiger and Sin Sin. The Tiger one is more sour, while Sin Sin is sweeter. Both work well.)

Directions:

1. Heat oven to 150 degC.

2. Place the salmon fillets into a freezer bag. Throw in the ginger and chopped garlic, then squeeze in the lime juice. Marinade for twenty minutes.

3. Chop the parsley and spring onion finely. Coarsely chop the raisins/cranberries.

4. This step is much clearer if you look at the pictures below!

  • Place a sheet of filo pastry on a clean counter top.
  • Butter half the pastry sheet then fold the sheet in half.
  • Place one salmon fillet on the right side of the folded pastry and throw half the chopped parsley, spring onion and raisins/cranberries on top (one quarter of the chopped veggies if you’re serving 4 persons).
  • Fold in the right edge of the sheet, then the top edge and bottom edge.
  • Finally, fold the left side of the sheet over the salmon and tuck the end under the parcel.
  • Repeat with the other salmon fillets.

    5. Place salmon fillets on a baking tray and pop the tray into the oven. Bake for 20 minutes.

    6. Serve hot with some sweet chili sauce on the side. You can also dilute and drizzle some of the sauce over the salmon fillets after you break open the pastry.

    Here are some shots of the process:

    Here’s a salmon parcel fresh out of the oven:

    And a perfectly cooked salmon fillet. Matte on the outside, shiny and juicy on the inside.

    14 Comments leave one →
    1. August 20, 2010 4:31 am

      Wow, what a lovely way to serve salmon…it sure looks so tasty…love the pictures as well.

    2. August 20, 2010 5:54 am

      I like the addition to raisin – brings a balance of flavors to the entire dish 🙂

    3. August 20, 2010 12:28 pm

      love the step by step folding pics. yes, a great idea for parties – and your guests will be impressed! :p

    4. Cons permalink
      August 20, 2010 10:58 pm

      you know I’ve actually tried this recipe after wey posted it up. I like everything about it except the filo sheet. So if I were to do it again, I will just bake it in aluminium foil. :-). But I am a big fan of chinese parsley!

    5. August 24, 2010 6:15 pm

      I love cooking fish in parcel. So juicy and moist! Love this recipe.

    6. August 25, 2010 10:44 am

      This sounds delicious!

    7. August 26, 2010 5:27 am

      I LOVE salmon- that looks delish! My absolute favorite salmon dish is linguine with smoked salmon. It’s definitely not healthy, but it tastes amazing!

    8. August 26, 2010 5:10 pm

      Clare,I am not a big fan of Salmon but I have to agree that this looks like a healthy fare…Raisins with fish? Interesting combo…I wonder..

    9. August 27, 2010 3:05 pm

      Juliana, tigerfish, noobcook, Ellie, Jessica, Kathryn: Thanks!
      Cons: The filo’s really lovely if you thaw it properly before baking and don’t use too much of it. 1 sheet per fillet is sufficient!
      Shirley: The cut raisins absorb some of the veggie juice during baking and add a wonderful sweetness to the dish. Worth trying!

    10. September 1, 2010 5:52 pm

      Ah, kindred friends. I was just thinking abt this recipe and making it and lo, I find a pic on your site:) (when I cldn’t find the pics on my own website).

      Your pic reminded me of something I forgot to add, that you can set your oven on grill or use a turbo griller, that actually gives a great result and browns the pastry better. Or, brush the pastry with a little bit of olive oil/butter.

    11. September 3, 2010 11:15 am

      Haha you couldn’t find it on your own site??
      All thanks to you dear friend for the fabulous recipe. Using it again tonight cos we’re hosting some friends.

    12. B's Mom permalink
      September 24, 2010 6:29 am

      I made this without the pastry wrapper and it tasted so good! We had the fish, together with rice – yummy =)

    13. September 29, 2010 10:21 pm

      Great job B’s Mom! So glad you liked it. You can dry a different dried fruit the next time =)

    14. October 15, 2010 2:24 am

      This salmon looks absolutely delicious!

    Leave a Reply

