Skip to content

Cream of Mushroom Soup

September 14, 2010

Hello lovely readers! How have you been keeping?

Two weeks ago I received some very very bad news, which put me in the doldrums for a couple of days. I couldn’t even bring myself to blog – the sign of a weary spirit. But thanks to my dear friend R’s wedding, I got to spend the last few days in London, which turned out to be very healing experience for me. In addition to participating in the beautiful wedding, I got to eat well, sleep well, walk plenty, shop plenty more, visit my favorite V&A Museum, go for a run in the resplendent Hyde Park, visit with some good friends, and attend service at All Souls where I got to hear a really wonderful and uplifting message.

Just back from the trip, I feel my blogging charm slowly returning, so I thought I should put up a post or two while I’m still in the mood. This is a simple one really, with a standard recipe that everyone should try at some stage. (Pardon the lackluster pictures! They were taken while I was gloomy…)

For some reason I had never wanted to make mushroom soup, not until a week and a half ago when my husband and I had some pretty fabulous mushroom soup at Chalk on Mount Sophia. (Old girls of MGS: Yes this would be where your alma mater used to stand!) Since I already had a pack of shrooms and a can of cream in my refrigerator, I just looked through a few variations of the dish online, picked up the fairly standardised directions, and set about making my soup.

Objectively speaking, the soup wasn’t quite as good as Chalk’s, but it was still very good, and I would use this recipe again. Though next time, I would probably try it with portabellos and fresh shitakes. (I used dried shitakes and Swiss brown mushrooms this time because that was all we had at home.)

Cream of Mushroom Soup

Click here for printable recipe.

Ingredients (serves 4):

  • 30g (7-9 pieces) dried Chinese mushrooms, soaked in water for 30 mins
  • 200g Swiss brown mushrooms(or sub the dried and Swiss mushrooms for 260g of some other fresh mushrooms)
  • 20g butter
  • 1 tbsp garlic
  • 1 medium yellow onion or 1/2 of a big yellow onion
  • 1 tbsp plain flour
  • 500ml chicken stock
  • 150ml thickened/heavy cream
  • 1 tbsp white wine or sherry
  • 1 sprig of English parsley, chopped

Directions:

1) Slice the dried Chinese mushrooms (after they have been soaked) and brown mushrooms thinly. Set aside.

2) Melt the butter in a medium-sized pot over low heat. Add the garlic and onion and fry for 3-4 minutes till onions are translucent. Add the brown mushrooms and fry till the mushrooms are softened. Finally add the dried Chinese mushrooms and fry for 5 minutes or so till most of the liquid appears to have evaporated. Sprinkle on the flour and give the mushrooms a good stir so they are evenly coated.

3) Pour the chicken stock into the pot and bring to a boil. Let the soup simmer for 20 minutes.

4) After 20 minutes, remove 3-4 tbsp of the sliced mushrooms and set aside. Pour the remaining soup mixture into a blender and blend till the mushrooms pieces are nothing more than small dark specks. (Alternatively, if your pot is deep enough and you have an immersion blender, you can just put the immersion blender into the pot and blend away.)

5) Pour the blended soup mixture back into the pot, add back the mushroom slices that you had set aside in step 4, pour in the cream and wine, and stir in half the parsley. Heat the soup till almost but not yet boiling.

6) Spoon the soup into bowls, garnish with the remaining parsley, and serve hot.

I didn’t take very good step by step pictures this time, so I’ve decided to omit them all except for this one:

Here’s one more shot of the finished product. (Notice we got to use our brand new electric pepper mill that I ordered off Amazon! It has a lamp and everything! I ♥)

To end this post, I’d like to give MAJOR PROPS to:

You ladies are such an encouragement and inspiration to me! Thank you also to Deanna, A. Huang and all my other friends and faithful readers who have greatly encouraged me to continue blogging with your kind words of affirmation.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2010 2:44 am

    Your pepper mill has a lamp for you to cook in the dark? ;p

    Clare, hope you are feeling better right now. It must be coincidental we made cream of mushroom soup almost the same time. My mushroom post is still waiting for me though.

  2. September 15, 2010 9:03 am

    Clare, wish to see you blog more 🙂

    I never used dried mushrooms for creamy soup before. Must be flavorful and this looks really creamy and smooth.

  3. shiwei permalink
    September 15, 2010 1:10 pm

    hi! i just wanted to say that it’s nice to see you back in blogging action again! :o) you probably dunno me but i’ve been reading your blog for a while now… heard about it through my husband! :o)

    what a coincidence! i just made cream of mushroom soup over the weekend. only i didn’t have button mushrooms so i substituted that with dried and fresh shitakes… i’ve tried portabellos but i found that tends to leave a slight bitter aftertaste… i’ve been meaning to try this other recipe for a while now though (http://www.cookingforengineers.com/recipe/194/Cream-of-Mushroom-Soup) i’m guessing the leeks will help add a sweeter taste… :o)

  4. Doris Choo permalink
    September 15, 2010 2:36 pm

    HI! Clare, good to hear that you are better now and your blogging charm had finally returned.
    Your mention of Mount Sophia had brought back some fond memories as I was an old girl of MGS in the sixties.
    Busy right now baking mooncakes but will definitely try out the mushroom soup receipe once the festive mood is over. Will inform you of the result and take care.

  5. September 16, 2010 6:28 pm

    Once you have tasted home made mushroom soup, you would never want one of those Campell cans anymore..ever.

    Glad you had an uplifting trip in London! You know, despite all my flying around, I have never set foot on UK yet?

  6. September 17, 2010 7:07 pm

    your soup looks creamy and I love the mushroom bits. yum! hope you are feeling better and glad you had a good trip 🙂

  7. September 18, 2010 11:14 am

    Thanks for the shout-out 🙂 it’s your great recipe that helps 🙂

  8. September 21, 2010 10:38 pm

    tigerfish and Doris: Thanks for your concern =)
    Ann: You are very sweet!
    shiwei: so nice to hear from you! thanks for saying hi! love your tidy step by step directions and summary tables! so clever and unique!

  9. September 21, 2010 10:40 pm

    noobcook: Thanks for the concern =)
    PY: Not mine! Rose Levy Beranbaum’s!

  10. September 22, 2010 8:36 am

    hi! oops, sorry if i gave the impression that that was my website! i blog but not about food… someday perhaps! 🙂

Leave a Reply

