Skip to content

Oreo Cheesecake

September 18, 2010

I recently tweeted about a little Oreo Cheesecake mishap I had, and promised to blog about it, so here goes!

I decided to make an Oreo Cheesecake two weeks ago for my sweet husband’s birthday, cos he loves Oreo Cheesecake. I had looked around a few weeks beforehand for recipes, and found two similar ones that I thought sounded good. One of them was actually from the Kraft website – yes, THE makers of cream cheese. I thought that since cheesecake is pretty much a big blob of sweetened cream cheese on a cracker base, the world’s primo manufacturer of cream cheese would surely know how to make a good cheesecake.

Sigh. Next time I will read the fine print. It’s not that that recipe (or the other one which I looked at, from quite a prolific US food blogger) was bad per se – but I think it was missing some steps toward the end that make all the difference between an OK cheesecake and a fabulous one.

What I really liked: That there was plenty of Oreo goodness in every bite, and that the crust was an Oreo crust rather than a Digestives/Graham Cracker crust.

What I really didn’t like: That the cake wasn’t as fluffy as I had expected, and that the top was all cracked around the edges!!! Garrhh!

I know what I did wrong though, and correct for it all in the recipe below. (It was the whole cooking the cake in a water bath + leaving it to cool inside the oven bit. Also I really should have lined my cake pan.) If only I’d referred to the many other posts I’d read before about cheesecakes! Ah well. We live and learn…

Oreo Cheesecake

Click here for printable recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 30 Oreo cookies
  • 70g unsalted butter, melted
  • 3 packs of Philadelphia Cream Cheese (8 oz. each), softened
  • 1 cup caster sugar
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 large eggs (about 150g)
  • 25 oreos, roughly chopped

Directions:

1. Heat oven to 170 degC. Line a 9-inch springform cake pan with foil or parchment (leave some slack at the sides so you can lift the foil easily out of the pan).

2. Grind 30 Oreo cookies in a blender or food processor until fine. Mix with melted butter and press into the bottom of the pan. Bake crust for 10 minutes and leave aside.

3. Using an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the cream cheese until fluffy. Add the sugar and beat for another minute or so. Scrape down the sides of the bowl. Then add the vanilla, sour cream and salt and mix well. Add the eggs one at a time and blend well. Finally stir the roughly chopped cookies into the batter.

4. Pour the batter over the crust. Gently whack the pan on the counter top to smooth out the batter. Place the springform pan into a large roasting pan, and pour water into the roasting pan till it comes halfway up the sides of the springform. Bake for 50 minutes until the center of the cake is almost set. Then turn off the oven and leave the cheesecake in the oven to cool for 45 minutes.

5. Refrigerate for at least 5 hours. Use the sides of the foil/parchment to lift the cheesecake out of the pan before cutting to serve.


I tried to be fancy by scattering some Oreo halves on the top of the cake – big mistake. Made it look like a complete mess! So much for art. Still, the batter looked ok…

Until it came out of the oven! Look at that! Ack!

So I was forced to cut my cake into little pieces, to give some semblance of order.

It actually didn’t look too bad in small chunks, and really really close up, like so:

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2010 5:23 pm

    I’m not really a fan of oreo but oreo cheesecake always fascinates me. H ave seen quite a few recipe around in blogsphere! In no time I was going to get inspired to make one of this myself. Now I knw no Kraft recipe 🙂 This still looks delicious though!

    P.S. following you on Twitter!

  2. September 18, 2010 8:40 pm

    Aww Clare, but I’m sure your sweet husband ate up the cake his sweet wife baked for him, right? 😉 They don’t look half-bad as individual pieces. In the first place, an Oreo cheesecake isn’t exactly “beauty queen” material, right? I mean, how pretty can a cake look when it’s garnished/streaked with black-brown colored bits (whether whole, halved or crumbed)?? 😉

  3. September 19, 2010 1:29 am

    My hb loves cheesecake too but just the classic. And your husb. is lucky to have a sweet wife bake a birthday cake for him.

  4. September 19, 2010 8:09 am

    Clare, I am sure for a Oreo Cheesecake lover, your husband would have found this tasty and satisfying 🙂 . I have come across many different Oreo Cheese cake recipes. Shall try some of them out soon….

  5. September 19, 2010 9:16 am

    Wow! Your cheesecake looks gorgeous! I can’t believe it bothers you that it’s cracked on the top. It makes it less than perfect but still beautiful. There are so many textures to cheesecake but I agree with you about the perference of the slightly fluffy texture. I know plenty of people who like the rather dry/crumbly texture. Creamy is ok too but the light and fluffy is definitely best. I recently just bought 3 packages of Oreos (good sale at Safeway) and have been looking for a good recipe to use them in. Oreo cheesecake just might be the thing!

    Thanks for sharing!

  6. September 20, 2010 12:54 am

    Hi Clare,

    Hmm.. I normally would’nt associate ‘fluffy’ with cheesecakes, unless they are Japanese cheesecakes. I like my cheesecakes dense and thick and always swear by a water bath when baking one.

    The cheesecake still looks appetizing despite the cracks =]

    cheers

  7. September 20, 2010 4:36 am

    Ooh, I loooove Oreo Cheesecake. So yummy!

  8. September 20, 2010 12:32 pm

    Perhaps it would have been better if you just lay oreo pieces, in whole on top and do not press it? Still looks gorgeous after slicing Clare, beautiful!

  9. September 21, 2010 2:35 am

    this looks so good .. will try it for sure .. thanks a lot

  10. September 21, 2010 3:14 pm

    must try out your tried and tested recipe if I want to make oreo cheesecake next time :D~

  11. September 21, 2010 10:48 pm

    Kulsum, tigerfish, Heidi, Maryam: Thanks!
    Ju: hahaha so right!
    Bakertan: thanks! and not exactly fluffy like Japanese cheesecakes lah =) but this one I made was much too dense. I originally used 4 packs of cream cheese because of the other recipe I was referring to alongside the Kraft one (yes, crazy amount of cream cheese) and it was much much too dense… think it will be much better with just 3 packs.
    Karly: Yes! But so sinful!
    Quinn: Thanks much! And thanks for the suggestion. I think I might keep it plain and simple the next time!
    shirley: tell me if you find a good one!
    noobcook: I’m hoping to make it again soon too to make sure the adjust recipe works well…

  12. October 6, 2010 8:58 am

    Thats awsome cake, do you need to put tea towel underneath the spring form pan to elevate little bit from the spring form pan to the roasting pan? 2) also when water bathing, does the water have to be boiling water?

  13. October 8, 2010 12:57 am

    obesebaby: Nope you don’t need to elevate the springform. But if you’re worried about water seeping into the pan, then you can wrap the bottom of the spring form with foil (make sure the foil goes high enough up the sides so that it ends above the water). And no the water shouldn’t be boiling! Regular tap water.

  14. webbiedong permalink
    October 31, 2010 1:13 pm

    I’LL EAT IT FOR YOU IF YOU NEED TO MAKE IT AGAIN!

Leave a Reply

