Skip to content

Quiche Lorraine

March 5, 2010

Yay I’m finally back in my kitchen (in more than just the physical sense)! Tonight we had some good friends over for dinner, so my heart and mind finally came back from vacation and kicked into culinary mode =)

I decided to be gentle on myself and make two of my favorites – Nigella’s One Page Sage & Onion Chicken & Sausage, and Harumi’s Carrot & Tuna Salad, and attempt just one new dish – Quiche Lorraine.

I had noticed this  quiche recipe on Ju’s blog sometime back, and printed it right away because I knew I would definitely try it sometime. As it turns out, it was easy to make and very yummy. And it’s just plain satisfying making your own quiche, know what I mean?

So here we go, my take on The Little Teochew’s Quiche Lorraine, with some little modifications to the pastry…

Quiche Lorraine
(You will need an 8-inch pie dish or pie tin with a loose bottom.)

Pastry Dough (adapted from La Fuji Mama)

Ingredients:
– 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, sifted
– 156g butter, softened
– 1 egg
– 1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions:

1. Heat oven to 180degC.

2. In a large mixing bowl, mix together the flour, butter, egg, and salt together with a wooden spoon, or with a hand mixer on the lowest speed. Mix until the dough comes together into a cohesive mixture.

3. Put the bowl into the refrigerator for half an hour so the dough is easier to manage.
*I added this step and the next because it’s a very greasy dough!

4. Take the dough out of the refrigerator, throw on a small fistful more flour, and roll it up into a ball.

5. Place the dough ball into the pie dish/tin, and use your fingers to flatten the dough out and up the sides of the tin.
*I’m not so good at working with very sticky dough so I usually put my hand into a small plastic bag before flattening out my dough.

6. Tuck a sheet of aluminium foil into the dish so that it fits nicely on the crust, and pour beans or rice into the dish.
*I also added this step, and the next one. Something I’m used to doing when making tarts. The beans/rice help to weigh down the dough so it doesn’t rise too much in the oven.

7.  Put dish into the oven for 15-20 minutes till edges brown slightly. (If using a pie tin with removable base, first place tin onto a baking tray, then put tray in oven.) Remove from oven and allow to cool to room temperature.

Pictures of steps 2, 4, 5 and 6!


Quiche Lorraine Filling (adapted from The Little Teochew)

Ingredients:
– 3 eggs
– 4 to 5 slices of bacon, cut into small pieces
– 1 jar creme fraiche or substitute^ (200-240ml or about 1 cup)
– Salt and pepper to taste

^I simply couldn’t find any creme fraiche, so I made a substitute based on some stuff I found online. Take 1 cup of heavy/thickened cream (35-40% milk fat), mix in 1tbsp of sour cream, cover and allow to stand at room temperature overnight or for at least 8 hours.

Directions:

1. Heat oven to 140degC.

2. In a skillet, fry bacon bits for about 5 minutes till edges turn dark. Set aside to cool.

3. Mix 3 eggs, creme fraiche (or substitute), salt and pepper till well combined.

4. Sprinkle the base of your pastry shell with bacon bits. Pour egg mixture in slowly.

5. Bake quiche for 35-40 minutes till the egg mixture sets and surface turns golden brown. (Baking on low heat prevents the mixture from rising into a ‘dome’ and cracking.)

6. Remove from oven, allow to cool for at least half an hour and serve. Delish =D

Pictures of steps 2, 3 and 4!


And the finished product.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 11:17 am

    You’ve got a nice thin crust! Though I’m not a fan of quiche lorraine, your’s look absolutely fabulous!

  2. March 5, 2010 10:42 pm

    Mmm…looks so yummy! I love to make quiche quite often for my breakfast. Would you like to take a look at: http://anncoo.blogspot.com/2009/03/quiche-bacon-onion.html

  3. Cons permalink
    March 5, 2010 11:24 pm

    hey u may consider using HAM and Onions as well. saute the bacon first. then add onions and then the ham. I remember using Edam cheese as well. I love this .

  4. March 6, 2010 10:16 pm

    I haven’t tried making quiche lorraine but must try it out soon as your recipe sounds so convincing. Love your tip on holding the crust during baking. Your quiche lorraine looks really gorgeous! 😉

  5. March 7, 2010 3:36 am

    I still remember the first time I ever made quiche Lorraine. It was for a fund-raiser for my French class in high school. Back then, we used store-bought pie dough. Nowadays, I make it from scratch. But the memories of that very first one still are among my fondest.

  6. trissalicious permalink
    March 7, 2010 7:20 pm

    Perfect quiche! I have never made this before but always buy it from one of the bakeries in Balmain – I just love anything with bacon – especially if it looks this good!

  7. March 8, 2010 5:23 pm

    Looks awfully good! I’ve alway wanted to try makin a quiche but it seems like so much work… Kudos to you for taking pictures along the way – it’s alot of help to the amatuers. 🙂 Will try it soon!

  8. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    March 9, 2010 11:33 pm

    blessedhomemaker, food-4tots, Trissa: Thanks!
    anncoo: Thanks! And your quiche of course looks fab, as does everything on your blog!
    Cons: Bacon AND ham both? Wow sounds salty!
    Carolyn: I definitely didn’t attempt anything like this in high school!
    Jaime: Thanks and I’m very sure you can do this it’ll be no sweat! Just remember to refrigerate the dough for a little bit so it isn’t too crazy to work with =)

  9. March 12, 2010 1:15 pm

    My dear, you’re baaaack! So good to see you blogging again. 🙂 How lovely is that Quiche Lorraine?! Very well done, indeed. Creme Fraiche can be found at Carrefour. Get the one under the “bio” range. It gives the quiche a very airy and light texture. Try next time, ah.

  10. mrsmultitasker permalink*
    March 14, 2010 4:33 pm

    Ju: Yes I’m definitely headed to Carrefour next time round =) Thanks for the fab recipe!

Leave a comment